Ambrose takes first leg of Cheddi Jagan Memorial cycle race

Members of the PPP/C Central Committee, cyclists and organisers gather to commemorate the anniversary of the late former president Dr. Cheddi Jagan. (Romario Samaroo photo)

Team Alanis’ Alanzo Ambrose yesterday fended off Jamaul John (Cocos) and Andre “Padlock” Greene to win the first leg of the 21st annual Cheddi Jagan Memorial cycling meet in Berbice.

Competing across 53 miles, the riders once arrived at the Ancient County and were treated to sandwiches and hot coffee before the early morning ride which ended with Ambrose crossing the finish line in two hours, 11 minutes and five seconds (02:11:05).

Some 40 riders, including two females, took the starting line in front of Freedom House, New Amsterdam…..


Mission accomplished!

HARARE, Zimbabwe, CMC – West Indies sneaked into next year’s World Cup in England but just barely, as heavy rain coupled with a controversial umpiring decision, helped them beat Scotland by five runs under Duckworth-Lewis-Stern, and stage a great escape in their final Super Six match of the ICC World Cup Qualifiers here yesterday.

Guyana to bid to host 2020 CARIFTA Games

Nine months after successfully hosting the South American U-20 Championships, a delegation is readying to present a bid to the North American, Central Amer-ican and Caribbean Athletics Association (NACAC) to host the CARIFTA Games for the first time on these shores.

GFRU lands Top Brandz sponsorship

Top Brandz Distributors will team up with the Guyana Rugby Football Union (GRFU) for the first time under their Hairoun Beer-brand in support of the union’s season opener on Saturday at the National Park.

GTTA appeals for corporate support

The Guyana Table Tennis Association (GTT) is appealing for corporate support to assist it participate at this year’s Caribbean Junior and Cadet Table Tennis Championships  in Havana, Cuba from April 2-8.

Green Machine to participate in the Americas Rugby Challenge in Colombia

After the resounding success of the first three seasons of the Americas Rugby Championship, the continent will inaugurate a new performance tournament for countries in Sudamérica Rugby and Rugby Americas North.


Not Ready to Subscribe ?

You can still join over other 15,000 subscribers and receive FREE breaking news alerts as they happen and the morning brief featuring top stories of the day. 

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.

We built using new technology. This makes our website faster, more feature rich and easier to use for 95% of our readers.
Unfortunately, your browser does not support some of these technologies. Click the button below and choose a modern browser to receive our intended user experience.

Update my browser now