CBJ Centenary Cup set for March 31 between Guyana and T/dad

As the month-long celebrations for the former President Dr. Cheddi Jagan continue, the People’s Progressive Party/Civic will stage a one off T20 match between a Guyana side and a Trinidad team on March 31.

Booked for the iconic Albion Community Center Ground, Berbice, the match will see a majority of West Indies stars taking to the field.

According to PPP/C executive member, Mustapha Zulfikar, Berbice has been starved for explosive cricket and the decision was made by the Centenary Committee, chaired by General Secretary of the party, Bharrat Jagdeo to host it in Berbice.

Apart from being the home of the late Dr. Jagan, Berbicians have always supported cricket, and according to Zulfikar, while this is a one-off competition, the Guyana team was selected based on advice from the Guyana Cricket Board.

He added that the Trinidad players have been personally contacted and given the go ahead from the Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board.

Up for grabs will be monetary prizes as well as awards for the Man-of-the-Match, Best Bowler and Best Batsman.

The Trinidad squad boosts a number of highly sought after T20 players who are no strangers to Guyana with the likes of Amazon Warriors’ all-rounder, Rayad Emrit and former Warriors’ opening batsman Lendl Simmons in the lineup.

Meanwhile Guyana will have a number of Berbicians in the squad including spin twins Veerasammy Permaul and Devendra Bishoo as well as wicketkeeper Anthony Bramble and big hitting Jonathon Foo.

The match will begin at 18:00h and gates will be open from 16:00h with entrance set at $1500.

Trinidad Titans squad: Rayad Emrit, Lendl Simmons, Nicholas Pooran, Amir Jangoo, Imran Khan, Kevon Cooper, Steven Katwaroo, Roshon Primus, Jon-ross Jaggesar, Vikash Mohan, Rion Webster, and Deron Davis

Guyana All stars: Leon Johnson, Godekesh Motie, Veerasammy Permaul, Devendra Bishoo, Anthony Bramble, Jonathon Foo, Sherfane Rutherford, Christopher Barnwell, Akshaya Persaud, Romario Shepherd, Raymon Reifer, Gajananad Singh, Richardo Adams, Assad Fudadin, Leon Joseph and Steven Jacobs.

Around the Web