Uitvlugt wins inaugural Super 4 football tournament

Uitvlugt Warriors won the inaugural Big Yard Auto Sale ‘West Side Super 4’ knockout football tournament by edging fierce rival Eagles FC of Stewartville 1-0 on Saturday.

The game was attached by a large crowd at the Vergenoegen Sports Club ground where  a solitary moment of individual brilliance settled what was a bruising contest devoid of many scoring opportunities. Eventual Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the final Seon Bobb recorded the fastest goal in recent memory, stunning the large gathering with a conversion in the 10thsecond.

With the defence falling asleep in the opening moments, the nippy Bobb uncorked a powerful right-foot strike from inside the right of the box, which settled into the lower left corner, giving custodian Denzil Smith no chance.

The early goal effectively grounded Eagles, who struggled to pose a consistent threat to the Uitvlugt back-line.

On the other side, Jamal Harvey was denied brilliantly from doubling his side’s lead in the 67th minute, as his curling 26 yard free-kick from the center of the field, was tipped over the crossbar by the diving custodian. Trayon Bobb then spurned a great chance in the 79th minute, lashing his effort wide of the empty net, after latching onto a left side pass.

With the win, Uitvlugt walked away with the championship trophy and $100,000 while the runners-up pocketed $40,000 and the corresponding accolade.

Meanwhile, in the match of the losing semi-finalists home side Vergenoegen downed Den Amstel 4-2 on penalty kicks after regulation time ended 1-1.

Anthony Benn handed Den Amstel the lead in the 26th minute with a first time strike into the roof of the net from the centre of the box, after latching onto a flat right side cross.

However the diminutive Chris Macey equalised in the 62nd minute, curling a left foot free-kick from the top of the box into the right corner.

With the win, Vergenoegen walked away with $20,000 and a trophy, while the loser pocketed $10,000 and the respective accolade.

Smith of Eagles received the Best Goalkeeper Accolade, while Trayon Bobb was adjudged the event’s overall Most Valuable Player (MVP).

Sponsors of the event were Dwayne Steven Auto Sale, Dans Snackette Parika, Anita’s Fast Food Parika, Nicola’s Guinness Bar Tuschen, Naem Poultry Supply and Fat Head Guinness Bar Parika.

Around the Web