BCB/NBS limited overs second division tournament launched

BCB President Hilbert Foster (right) receives the sponsorship cheque from NBS Regional Manager Rana Persaud.

The Berbice Cricket Board (BCB) has joined up with the New Building Society Limited (NBS) to stage a limited overs second division competition.

A release from the BCB stated that the competition comes on the heels of a lengthy period of inactivity among the clubs, adding that the BCB is still looking to stage some 20 plus tournaments this year.

The tournament is expected to attract  teams from the West Berbice, New Amsterdam/Canje, Lower Corentyne, Central Corentyne and Upper Corentyne areas.

BCB President Hilbert Foster explained that the teams will be placed into 16 zones, to ensure that the tournament is completed on time.

The winner of each zone will advance to the playoffs. Teams have until May 25 to register and must submit a list of at least 16 players for the round-robin tournament.

According to the release, NBS Regional Manager Rana Persaud said the financial institution was pleased to be associated with Berbice cricket, which enjoys legendary status in the Caribbean.

The NBS, he stated, invests heavily into sports and educational activities as part of its corporate responsibilities to Guyana. Persaud expressed confidence that the BCB would organise a dynamic tournament and that the financial institution would receive widespread media promotion.

Among the teams expected to participate are Bush Lot United, Bush Lot Rising Star, Achievers, D’Edward, Cotton Tree, Blairmont, Police, Tucber Park, Young Warriors, Rose Hall Canje, Chesney, Albion, Port Mourant, Whim, Kildonan, Mental Hospital, Mt. Sinai, No. 73, Ramnarine Memorial, Skeldon and No. 68.

Foster hailed the support of the management and staff of the NBS, which is pumping $783 000.00 into the tournament.

The BCB President committed the board to organising a tournament of the highest standard and one which would achieve its objectives of promoting cricket at the grassroot level, enabling youths to learn from experienced players and bringing new talents to the attention of the BCB.

He urged  the clubs to get themselves properly organised to take advantage of the hard work of the BCB.

All players are required to be attired in whites while only Berbicians will be allowed to play.

Clubs will  be allowed a maximum of two first division players but Under-19 cricketers will not be considered first division players.  The Berbice Cricket Board is also  debarring senior players like Devendra Bishoo, Veerasammy Permaul, Royston Crandon, Romario Shepherd, Anthony Bramble, Assad Fudadin and Gajanand Singh. The list also consists of players who participated in more than five matches of the Guyana Cricket Board Franchise League in 2017.

Teams can contact President Hilbert Foster on 337 4562, Secretary Robby Saywack 660 0049 or Angela Haniff 333 2375 to register.

The last New Building Society second division tournament was played in 2015 with Tucber Park defeating Rose Hall Town Bakewell by three runs to emerge champion.

Around the Web