GABF shortlists squads for June Caribbean Championships

The Guyana Amateur Basketball Federation (GABF) has shortlisted their provisional Men’s and Women’s squads for the Caribbean Basketball Confederation (CBC) Championships, set for Suriname from June 15th-30th, 2018.

The Men’s, team will feature several overseas born and based players. They are Gordon James, Shawn James, Delroy James, Anthony Moe, Ray Victor, Kevin Mickle, Kevon Wiggins, Richard Mohandatt, Nikon McGregor and Juon Nicholson.

The local players who will be in training are Shane Webster, Timothy Thompson, Shelroy Thomas, Stanton Rose, Harold Adams, Orlando Glasgow, Terron Welch, Chris Williams, Travis Burnett, Dominique Vincente, Nathan Saul, Dave Causeway, Travis Belgrave, Akeem Crandon, Nikkoloi Smith, Domair Gladstone and Kurt English.

Meanwhile the Women’s team comprises Mariam McKenzie [overseas based], Kennesha Leacock, Tandika Bouyea, Annalisa Barclay, Jade Mohan, Saffiya Greene, Jenelle Belle, Lydya Roberts, Kelian Sauers, Roshelle Campbell, Makeida Rogers, Caron Bobb-Semple, Jahrier Young, Nia Wilson, Sonia Rodney, Ginelle Ifill, Cliffanna Hunter, Aypdele Roache, Jamacia Blair, Ashley Khan, Ruth Sanmogan, Demelza Nicholas, Kesann Charles, Shania Sears, Tamara Hunter and Annaliza Barker.

The Men’s team will commence training on Sunday May 27th from 8:00pm at the Cliff Anderson Sports Hall, while the Women’s team will start their sessions on Sunday May 20th from 7:00pm.

The Ladies will depart for the Dutch nation on June 15th, with their matches slated for June 17th-21st. They will return on the 22nd. The Guyanese Women are in Group-B alongside Suriname, Barbados and the Dominican Republic. Group-A features Bahamas, Cuba and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

On the other hand, the Men will leave local shores on June 22nd, with their scheduled matches running from June 24th-30th. They will return on July 1st. The Guyanese Men are in Group-A, with Suriname, Saint Lucia, Grenada, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines.

Group-B comprises Barbados, Bermuda, Antigua & Barbuda, Haiti and Montserrat.

Lugard Mohan, Ann Gordon and Troy Greene will serve as the Management team for the Ladies’ side, while Willon Cameron, Junior Hercules, Kenny Avent and Jim Carr will manage the Men’s team.

Jonas Anastal is the Physical Trainer and Physiotherapist for both teams.

Around the Web