Hemraj, Singh, Joseph in President’s XI to face Sri Lanka today

Vishaul Singh

West Indies test batsman, Vishaul `Cheesy’ Singh,  Chandrapaul Hemraj and Keon Joseph have been named in Cricket West Indies’ (CWI) President’s XI to face Sri Lanka in a three-day game beginning today.

The match will be played at the Brian Lara Stadium, Trinidad and Tobago and the home team will be led by Kieran Powell.

Singh, who has scored eight hundreds and 12 half centuries in his first class career, has played three test matches for the West Indies.

Keon Joseph

His most recent engagement was for the West Indies A team against England Lions in February.

The 26-year-old fast bowler, Joseph was also a member of the team that played against England Lions.

He has so far taken 95 wickets from his 37 career matches with a best of 8-88.

Hemraj made his West Indies A debut in the one-day version of the series but has shown he has the ability to score quickly and bat for long periods.

He was a member of the Regional Four-day Championship winning side, Guyana Jaguars along with Singh and Joseph.

Jaguars’ Raymon Reifer has also been included in the team.

CWI President’s XI squad: Kieran Powell (Captain), Sunil Ambris, Jermaine Blackwood, Shamarh Brooks, John Campbell, Rahkeem Cornwall, Miguel Cummins, Jahmar Hamilton, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Keon Joseph, Raymon Reifer, Vishual Singh and Jomel Warrican.

The first of three Test matches between West Indies and Sri Lanka will start on June 6. Matches will be played in Trinidad (June 6-10), St. Lucia (June 14-18) and Barbados (June 23 to 27).

Around the Web