Diamond Secondary crowned inaugural REO Champions

We are the Champions! Diamond Secondary became the first ever champions in the RDC/Lloyd Britton/Devcon Construction/REO Inter-Secondary Schools tournament

In a dramatic end to an exhilarating tournament, Diamond Secondary triumphed over Annandale Secondary in a tense final to be crowned the first ever champions of the Regional Democratic Council (RDC)/ Lloyd Britton/ Devcon Construction/ Regional Executive Officer (REO) Region Four Inter-Secondary Schools Tournament at Everest Cricket Club, Camp Road yesterday.

Batting first, Annandale bounced back from a slow start to post 145-5 from 35 overs, the maximum they could have faced in their first innings while Diamond nervously made it to 146-8, declaring in 30.3 overs to draw the match, however Diamond won by virtue of first innings lead.  As the match boiled down to the close of play, Diamond required all but four runs while Annandale needed two to secure the first innings lead and ultimately the match but Alex Singh edged one past the keeper that raced to the boundary on the blazing outfield, sending the large crowd in uproar.

Speaking at the presentation, Britton along spoke on the importance of fitness while congratulating the teams for their excellent performance.

Winners row! The various prize winners along with the sponsors of the tournament

REO Pauline Lucas also complimented the teams for their stellar performances while thanking those who showed their support and dedication to make the event a success.  In Annandale’s innings, Diamond skipper, Philip McTurk removed Evald Hendricks in the third ball of the match, while Chandrapaul Ramraj and man of the match, Mahendra Singh added 44 for the second wicket and laid the platform for the innings.

Ramraj, who is slated to represent West Indies youth team in the upcoming tour of England was bowled by Rondel Kattow for 13 but Singh went on to raise his half century, his second of the tournament, adding 57 runs for the third wicket with skipper, Daniel Prashad.

Prashad was run out by Anil Singh, as he scampered a single on his way to 32.   The man of the match also shared in a 40-run collaboration with Guyana youth player, Romel Datterdeen as Diamond struggled to pick up wickets. Datterdeen edged a faint delivery to Mavindra Dindyal who was awarded as the best wicket keeper in the competition.

In Diamond’s innings, Dindyal, Most Valuable player of the tournament looked solid but slashed a wide delivery into the hands of John Roopnarine and marked the player of the match’s first wicket.

Wickets kept tumbling as no one looked as if they were going to spend long at the crease except McTurk who came in at three and top scored with 35.

Krnsa Singh, lower down the order battled after McTurk departed for a spirited 23 but when he was bowled by Yeudister Persaud, the crowd was silenced and nails began to bite. Mahendra Singh returned to cap off a splendid match with 4-19 figures.

In the end, a number of other players were awarded for their outstanding performances including Pradesh Balkishun of Bladen Hall Secondary who smacked the highest total, 139 and having the highest aggregate while Covent Garden’s Scott Singh copped the most wickets and best bowling figures of 7-12.

Also, the sponsors were also awarded for their contributions to the competition as the organisers pledged their support for another year in an effort to make the event an annual activity.

Around the Web