GCB names U19 squad

-Squad to play warm up three-day match from today

Bhaskar Yadram

The Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) has named its 13-man squad to take part in the Cricket West Indies Regional Under-19 50 overs and three-day tournaments in St. Vincent and the Grenadines next month.

The Guyana team, which won both titles last year, will be seeking to retain their titles with seven of their players from last season returning.

West Indies Under-19 Bhaskar Yadram will take over as captain. Yadram solidified his position as a force to be reckoned with, smashing a record breaking 301 not out against the GCB Under-17 team in the Hand In Hand/GCB Under-19 Inter-county tournament in April.

Also returning to the side is Berbice opener Alex Algoo who was one of the few batsmen to score a century in the Inter-County tournament.

Kevin Sinclair, Javed Karim, Joshua Persaud, Ashmead Nedd and Kevlon Anderson are the others returning from last year.

Meanwhile, national Under-17 captain Sachin Singh has also been included in the team after dominating in the Inter-County circuit and being among the runs in the Regional Under-17 tournament.

Yeudister Persaud, the national Under-17 wicketkeeper who finished the Regional tournament as the best wicketkeeper but struggled for runs was named as the third ‘keeper in the side alongside West Indies Under-19 keeper Joshua and Adrian Hinds.

Bowlers, Qumar Torrington and Kevin Umroa are the other two pacers in the side while Joel Fortune, Saqik Khan, Sherland Anthony, Karan Arjpaul, Silvan Williams and Kurt Lovell were listed as the stand by players.

Julian Moore and Andy Ramnarine returns as coach and manager respectively. The team will begin their preparation against the GCB Academy players in a three-day match at Everest Cricket Club with the first ball to bowl off today.

National Under-19: Bhaskar Yadram- Captain, Kevin Sinclair Alex Alvin Algoo, Sachin Singh, Adrian Anthony Christopher Hinds, , Junior Sinclair, Kevlon Anderson, Javed Karim, Yeudister Persaud, Kelvin Umroa, Joshua Persaud, Ashmead Nedd, Qumar Torrington. This team will be led by Andy Ramnarine and Coach Julian Moore.

The six stand-by players are: Joel Fortune, Sadik Khan, Sherland Anthony, Kurt Lovell, Karan Arjpaul and Silvan Williams.

Academy: Akshaya Persaud-Captain, Anthony Adams- Vice Captain, Robin Bacchus, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Raymon Perez, Tevin Imlach , Sherfane Rutherford, Kemol Savory, Clinton Pestano, Ramaal Lewis, Raun Johnson, Richie Looknauth and Ricardo Adams. The team will be managed by Michael Franco while Clive Grimmond functions as the Coach.

Around the Web