Basketball players, officials to be rewarded financially today

The Guyana Amateur Basketball Federation [GABF] will stage an Awards Ceremony today to honour the players and management staff for their historic triumph at the CBC Pre-Qualifiers in Suriname.

The event will be staged at the Burnham Court from 18:00hrs and will witness each member of the playing and management staff receiving medals and $GYD100, 000 for the accomplishment. This was revealed by GABF President Nigel Hinds. 

History was created June 31st as Guyana secured the International Basketball Federation (FIBA) AmeriCup 2021 Caribbean Pre-Qualifiers championships, defeating Antigua and Barbuda 83-70 in the final at the Anthony Nesty Sports Hall, Suriname.

The Guyanese also secured wins over Grenada, Suriname, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, St. Lucia and Barbados en route to the title.

 The local players who will receive accolades are Stanton Rose [captain], Shane Webster, Harold Adams, Orland Glasgow, Travis Burnett, Travis Belgrave, Kevon Wiggins and Timothy Thompson

The overseas players who will receive their monies via wire transfer are Ray Victor, Anthony Moe and Denzel Devonish. 

On the management side, head-coach Junior Hercules and assistant-coach Dennis Clarke are also among the awardees. 

Around the Web