Curtis ‘Chappy’ Dey is Lucozade/ICool champion

Ansa McAl officials, race organizers and officials along with racers pose for a photo at the end of the event.

PSL’s Curtis `Chappy’ Dey edged a three-man sprint to the finishing line in the featured 35-lap schoolboys and invitational race of the inaugural Lucozade/ICool 11-stage cycling meet in the National Park  yesterday.

Dey pipped Christopher ‘Chicken Legs’ Griffith by half of a wheel despite Griffith starting the sprint with Jamaul John, the eventual third place winner in pursuit to win in one hour, 19 minutes and 24 seconds (01:19:24).

At the presentation, Errol Nelson, Ansa McAl’s non-alcoholic brand manager was short with his remarks, thanking the riders for their support as well as organiser, Hassan Mohammed, (MS), for his efforts in making the first run of the event a success.

Photo finish! Curtis “Chappy” Dey snatches victory from a pressing Christopher Griffith

He also pledged his support in the future.

Meanwhile, Mohammed said he was happy with the beverage giants coming on board but relayed his experience of witnessing an unfortunate event of a driver not paying attention to the race officials and park attendants that almost resulting in a few cyclists being injured. He said in over 40 years in the park, this was the first he had witnessed to this degree but cautioned others in the future to pay attention at such events.

Kemuel Moses, Romello Crawford and Paul DeNobrega rounded off the top six in that order while John carted off three sprint primes,  Griffith, three, Dey, two and Crawford, one.

Jahem Henry won both the boys BMX 9-12 and 12-14 years-old categories with Taran Garbarran and Shaquel Dow finishing second and third in the latter. Jose Rodrigues, Jared Barrington and Dwayne DeNobrega finished in that order of the 6-9 BMX category while Uttamkumar Issurdeen was the lone wheelchair competitor.

Brian DeNobrega was once again the lone rider in the 12-14 boys and girls category, finishing his three laps in eight minutes and five seconds.

The Veterans under 50 category was won by Oliver Vintage who took 12 minutes and nine seconds to finish his five laps with Warren McKay and Nigel London second and third respectively.

Ian Jackson won the over-50 category with Linden Blackman and Beresford Bookie finishing second and third respectively.

Earlier, Adelie Hodge emerged victorious over Ajay Gopilall in the juveniles 10-lap race. Similarly, Kareem Sharpe defeated Jamal Campbell in the mountain bike division.

Around the Web