Mahadeo spins Port Mourant to victory in Ramnaresh Sarwan U17 tourney

-wins for Albion, Rose Hall Town Bakewell

Doorsammy Mahadeo picked up 7-14

The Berbice Cricket Board/Ramnaresh Sarwan Under-17 Knockout 50-overs Cricket Tournament bowled off earlier this week with only three games possible due to rain.  In one of the matches, Doorsammy Mahadeo was able to spin Port Mourant to victory while Albion and defending champions, Rose Hall Town Bakewell secured early wins against No. 73, Tamarind Root Cricket Club and Rose Hall Canje respectively.

At the Port Mourant Ground, the home team romped to a nine-wicket win after they won the toss and sent the visitors to have first strike where they struggled to 74 all out after facing just 22 overs.

Mahadeo bamboozled the batsmen to earn 7-14 from 7.3 overs. Only three batsmen managed double figures with Zameer Shaw being the top scorer with 26. In response, Rampertab Ramnauth and Dave Ramgoolam both remained unbeaten on 19 while Fardeen Khan was the lone wicket to fall for 18 as Port Mourant raced to 75-1 in 21 overs.

Over at the Albion Cricket Club ground, Tamarind Root were crushed by 10 wickets. Tamarind Root were first up to bat but found themselves in unchartered territory having been dismissed for just 40 in 7.2 overs as Sarwan Chaitnarine bagged 5-12. He then returned with the bat to blast an unbeaten 29 as his team chased down the small total in 8.3 overs.

Meanwhile, Rose Hall Town Bakewell defeated Rose Hall Canje Cricket Club by 30 runs at the Area ‘H’ Ground. The defending champions had to dig deep after being reduced to 40-4 with Jonathan Rampersaud and Mahendra Gopilall scoring 28 runs each to see their team post 132 all out in 30-overs.

Tyrese Sealey supported with 19 while Lucas Arthur contributed 15 but it was seamer Isiah Thorne’s 3-27 and off spinner Ricardo Ramdehol’s 3-24 that exposed the defending champions’ batting flaws.

In response, the visitors were given a solid opening stand of 49 from 18 overs by Ramdehol and Avishkar Persaud before Ramdehol was dismissed by Jeremy Sandia for 19, signalling the collapse.

Sandia ended with 3-19 while Rampersaud bagged 2-20, Mathew Pattaya 2-18 and Tyrese Sealey 2-20 in the victory.

Around the Web