Mangal, Prashad and Solomon Trophy Stall tourney winners

(l-r) Kevin Dinanauth, ‘Mahesh’ Shivraj, Mike Mangal, Rabi Sukul, Bridgelall Harry, Patrick Prashad, Richard Haniff, LGC President Aleem Hussain, Robert Hanoman, Dr Joaan Deo and Maurice Solomon.

Mike Mangal, Patrick Prasad and Maurice Solomon emerged champions of their respective flights when the country’s top golfers took to the green in the annual Trophy Stall tournament at the Lusignan Golf Club (LCG) on Saturday.

With good weather and lush greens Mangal was in full swing, copping the coveted ‘A’ flight (0-9 handicap) with a 72/80 score while Kevin Dinanauth, a second generation golfer impressed to seal the runner up spot with a score of 78/81.

Nazeem ‘Papo’ Hanniff and Richard Haniff both ended the day’s play 81/88 and 82/91 respectively.

Prasad conquered the packed ‘B’ flight (10-18 handicap) with a 69/79 score with Lekhnarine ‘Mahesh’ Shivraj, 71/88 securing second. Also impressive in the group was club president Aleem Hussain (73/83), Parmanand ‘Max’ Persaud (75/89), Dr Joaan Deo (75/91), Kalyan Tiwari (76/89), Aasrodeen Shaw (77/91) and Gavin Todd (79/96).

In the ‘C’ Flight, (19 – 28 handicap) Solomon won with a 79/100 score with Robert Hanoman securing second with 80/128.  Mark Lashley (91/115) also performed creditably in the ‘C’ Flight.

Two other prizes were awarded to Prashad for the best gross and best overall net of 79 and 69 respectively while David Harry won the nearest to the pin and Richard Haniff  the longest drive.

Around the Web