Guyana Jags wing out for CWI Regional Super50

Guyana Jaguars will be looking to win their first 50-overs Regional title since 2005

The Guyana Jaguars yesterday departed Guyana in search of their first title at the Cricket West Indies Regional Super50 since winning back in 2005 in Trinidad and Tobago.

Departing at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport, the team will open their title hunt against defending champions and hosts, Trinidad and Tobago Red Force on Friday at the Queen’s Park Oval.

The 10-team tournament also pits them against Windies B (October 7), Canada (October 9) and Windward Islands Volcanoes (October 11).

The team includes the likes of Christopher Barnwell, Leon Johnson, Gudakesh Motie, Clinton Pestano, Ramaal Lewis, Ricardo Adams, Raymon Reifer and Tagenarine Chanderpaul, all of whom enjoyed recent success in the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) 50-overs Franchise League which was seen as preparation for the tournament.

It is expected that two players will leave the team for international duties and Essequibo wicketkeeper/ batsman, Kemol Savory and former Guyana under-19 captain, Ronaldo Ali Mohammed  will be the stand by players who  will join the team should the players depart.

Guyana is without veteran Shivnarine Chanderpaul who was not selected in the side while Shimron Hetmyer, Keemo Paul and Devindra Bishoo are on West Indies duties in India.

According to the GCB, the team is confident that they can return with the title, based on the fact that that team is made up of a variety of talented youngsters from across the country.

Both team manager, Rayon Griffith and Honorary Secretary of the GCB, Anand Sanasie, have reportedly given the assurance that the team will perform well.

Johnson is set to lead the side while West Indies B team captain Anthony Bramble is the vice-captain.

The GCB, wished the team all the best in their attempt to win the tournament adding that it believes that the players are equipped and ready to win the championship.

The squad reads: Leon Johnson- Captain, Anthony Bramble-Vice Captain, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Raymon Reifer, Sherfane Rutherford, Christopher Barnwell, Romario Shepherd, Veerasammy Permaul, Gudakesh Motie, Ramaal Lewis, Antony Adams, Trevon Griffith and Clinton Pestano, Coach Esuan Crandon and Manager/Assistant Coach, Rayon Griffith. They will also be accompanied by Physiotherapist, Neil Barry.

Around the Web