As the second annual Prime Ministers Softball T20 Cup entered the penultimate day, defending champions Ariel Speedboat XI (open category) and Regal Masters (Masters Category) marched into the finals yesterday.

In another nail-biting contest, Ariel Speedboat held their nerve to survive a late fight back from Regal Allstars to win by six wickets and 11 balls to spare.

Regal posted 161 all out from their full quota and Ariel Speedboat reached 164-4 in 18.1 overs with four consecutive boundaries off the blade of Greg Singh that sealed the deal.

Regal batted first and could have been in immediate trouble had the wicketkeeper not fumbled on the first two deliveries but the bowlers fought back well with brothers Wazeer Hussain and Shazim Hussain taking two wickets each to complement Singh who bagged 3-38 with his left hand bowling.

Sachin Singh was the top scorer, gathering 39 from 22 balls with three fours and two sixes while Marvin Bobb and Sewchand Boodhoo chipped in with 29 each  while Ricky Sargeant scored 26 form 11 balls, three of which were boundaries.

In reply, Ariel Speedboat were coasting at 96-1 at the half way stage but with set batman, Wazeer Hussain chipping down the wicket only to be bowled for a well-played 47 that included three fours and three sixes, the tables turned.

Regal fought their way back with two quick strikes including Anand Bharat who was run out on a top score of 52.

Meanwhile Boots XI defeated DS18 by five wickets in a contest that was reduced to 15 overs. DS18 batted first and were bundled out for 109 in 13.1 overs with E. Joseph top scoring with 22 with two sixes and one four while A. Wallace grabbed 3-14. In the chase, Boots XI climbed to 111 in 12.2 overs, losing five wickets in the process, three of which went to R. Poloram who ended with 3-18. Balram Samaroo stroked a match-winning 33.

Also, defending champions in the Masters division, Regal Masters hammered Parika Defenders who were unable to defend their dismal total at Everest Cricket Club. Defenders could not save their wickets, going 86-8 in their full quota as David Harper and Laurie Singh ran rampant with 3-18 and 2-14 respectively.

Openers, Eion Abel blasted a four boundaries and two sixes in his unbeaten knock of 47 while Eric Thomas supported  with 31 not out, hitting four fours along the way.

Regal Masters will come up against Wellman Masters who advanced with a 27-run victory over Fishermen Masters.

Reduced to 16 overs due to light at the Eve Leary Ground, Wellman took first strike and raced to 132-4 in their allotted overs with Jagdish Persaud top scoring with 34 and valuable contributions from Ravi Latchman (33) and Wayne Jones (27 not out). Stanley Mohabir was the pick of the bowlers, taking 3-29.

In reply, Fishermen were reduced to 105-7 as the overs ran out due to tight bowling from Ramesh Narine who ended with 2-22 despite Hemraj Pillay and Baldeo Persaud scoring 37 and 17 not out respectively.

The finals will both be played at Everest today with the Masters match beginning at 09.30hrs and the Open final commencing at 13.00hrs.

Around the Web