Payless Variety Store 11-stage cycling returns Saturday

Flashback! Prize winners of the various categories of the 6th Annual Payless Variety Store-sponsored 11-race cycle programme along with race organiser Hassan Mohammed (third from right), Rajin Tiwari of Payless Variety Store (second from right) and race official Joseph Briton (extreme left)

For the seventh successive year the inner circuit of the National Park will be transformed into the track where the country’s best wheelsmen will ply their trade to contest  top honours in the Payless Variety Store 11-stage cycling programme this Saturday.

With action set to pedal off from 09.00hrs as is customary, National cycling coach and organiser of the event, Hassan Mohammed, praised highly the Wellington Street-based company for its continued dedication towards providing consistent races in order to keep developing the young riders.

Last year’s winner of the feature 35-lap Schoolboys and Iinvitational event,  Geron Williams, will be hard pressed to retain his title having taken most of the cycling season off. Nevertheless, he has returned to the saddle to show that he is still a force to be reckoned with, immediately climbing back to the top of the pile.

However, the ever consistent Team Evolution duo of Paul Denobrega, who recorded a win in the last race held locally and Christopher Griffith will be among the favourites for the title. Berbice also has a strong contingent with Andre “Padlock” Greene and Andrew Hicks showing subliminal form while Team Coco’s Jamaul John will be teaming up with Hamzah Eastman who has been in the international arena for the last few months. With these riders at the forefront it is likely that Williams’ winning time last year of one hour, 12 minutes and 35 seconds will be bettered.

With Nigel Duguid moving into the senior category, a new champion in the juniors/juvenile division will be crowned and with Briton John showing his determination and grit, he is a keen contender for the title. In the other categories, there is no clear favorite with Junior Niles continuing to pull out some spectacular races and will be challenging Ian Jackson in the veterans under 50 division. Last year’s winners of the other event that will be contested were Linden Blackman (over-50), Jonathan Ramsuchit (boys 12-14), Nigel Jacobs (Mountain Bike), Jared Barrington (BMX 6-9) and Joheme Henry (BMX 9-12). As is customary, representatives of the company will be there to distribute prizes and witness the action.

Around the Web