Eight-aside football tourney launched

Mayor of New Amsterdam, Winifred Haywood [centre] posing with the tournament organizers and representatives of Banks DIH Limited and other sponsors at the launch on Friday of the second annual GT-Beer 8-aside Football Championship

The second annual GT-Beer 8-aside Football Championship commences today at the All Saints ground, New Amsterdam with a doubleheader.

In the opening clash at 19:00hrs, Paradise FC will oppose Black Sharks FC, while the featured contest will pit Rosignol FC against the Corentyne All-Stars from 20:30hrs.

Prior to the commencement of the matches, an opening ceremony will be staged at 18:00hrs, which will feature remarks from Mayor of New Amsterdam Winifred Haywood.

The 32-team event which was launched on Friday at the New Amsterdam Town Council Chambers, features participants from Berbice, Georgetown, East Coast Demerara and West Demerara, battling for over $1,200,000 in prizes.

Matches will be staged on Friday and Sunday leading up to the grand finale on January 5th.

The competing teams are Paradise, Black Sharks, Rosignol, Corentyne All Stars, Georgetown Police, Berbice Police, Santos, Wolves, Corriverton Links, Beacons, NA United, Uitvlugt, Arsenals East, 41 Scheme, Cougars, Arsenals West, GDF, Heart of Oaks, Orealla Falcons, Monedderlust, Pouderoyen, Timehri Panthers, BV United, Hopetown United, Mahaica Determinators, Number 5, Grove Hi-Tech, Edinburgh Gunners, NA Prisons, Golden Stars, Soccer City, Hopetown FC and Siparuta. The tournament has been sanctioned by the GFF and the Berbice Football Association.

Around the Web