Wiltshire, Verwey capture major titles

-in Farfan & Mendes Junior Skill level squash tournament

Participants in this year’s Farfan & Mendes Junior Skill level squash tournament display their trophies (Royston Alkins photo) 

Shomari Wiltshire and Nicholas Verwey played unbeaten in this year’s Farfan & Mendes Junior Skill level squash tournament to walk away with the category A and B titles, respectively, yesterday at the Georgetown Club Squash Court.

 It was the final squash tournament of the year, which fittingly concluded with Wiltshire stroking his way past Samuel Ince-Carvalhal in the final game of the tournament. 

 It was an exhibition of well-placed drop shots by Wiltshire, some of which found peculiar angles on the wall, particularly inches above the tin as he took the first two sets without much fuss 11-2, 11-5. 

Samuel Ince-Carvalhal (left) executes a drop shot during his match against Shomari Wiltshire  (Royston Alkins photo)

 However, Ince-Carvalhal, who found it difficult to counter Wiltshire’s brilliance, played a much better final set where he went shot for shot with the eventual champ before he lost 10-12 to hand Wiltshire a three-set win and the title. 

 Michael Alphonso captured silver while Ince-Carvalhal had to settle for bronze. 

 Verwey on the other hand, who is quickly working his way up the ranks, was unbeaten in Category B.

 His championship pedigree saw him defeating Ethan Jonas in his final match of the year, winning 12-10, 11-7, 11-7. His exploits were especially remarkable having won the title ahead of second place winner Kirsten Gomes and Abosaide Cadogan who are both seasoned campaigners. 

 Meanwhile, the category C title went to Zachary Persaud who won the title ahead of Lucas Jonas and Shiloh Asregado. 

  Other winners: 

 Category D: Lajuan Munroe came in first ahead of Nathan Rahaman and Joshua Verwey. 

 Category E: Aishani Persaud came in first followed by Dhiren Persaud and Arvin Seelall. 

 Category F: Grant Fernandes came in first followed by Christina Fernandes and Kaden Pyneandy. 

 Category G: Romero Muniram came in first followed by Brenno DaSilva and Tristan Seereeram. 

 Category H: Shryah Persaud came in first followed by Solomon Ince- Carvalhal. 

Around the Web