Barnwell, Nedd, Beaton win major DCC awards 

 The awardees displaying their winning trophies 

The Demerara Cricket Club (DCC) on Wednesday evening hosted a year-end award, the first under President Roger Harper’s current tenure to reward its players for stellar performance this year. 

 DCC in 2018 copped titles in nearly every youth and senior division as the Club continues to assert its dominance in the City. 

 Winning the ‘Clive Lloyd player of the year awards’ were Skipper Christopher Barnwell, Ashmead Nedd, Nkosi Beaton, Sachin Singh and Jonathan Van Lange (under 13 and 15). 

 These awards were handed to the MVP players for the First Division, Second Division, under – 19, under – 17, under – 15 and under – 13 categories respectively. 

 Meanwhile, West Indies under – 19 selectee, Raymond Perez copped the Travis Dowlin award for the most impactful performance in 2018 for smashing 32 runs off the final over of the Carib T20 semifinal to spur his side into the final. 

 Dennis Squires was named the Executive of the year while Lawrence Smith was awarded for his leadership in 2018. 

 More awardees:

The Justice Aubrey Bishop Award for top CXC Student 2018 – Nkosi Beaton (5 subjects including a distinction)


The Frederick Wills Award for top CAPE Student 2018– Qumar Torrington


The Roy Fredericks Award for the Best Batting Performance in 2018: Under 13- Jonathan Van Lange 34 vs GCC

 Under 15- Jaden Campbell 28* vs Belair Rubis

 Under 17- Sachin Singh 96 vs Saint

 Under 19- Nkosi Beaton 120 vs MSC (Finals)

 Second Division – Sachin Singh 171 vs Diplomats

 First Division – Christopher Barnwell 165 vs UG (Semi Final)


The Lance Gibbs Award for the Best Bowling Performance 2018: 

Under 13- Romeo Deonarine 4-6 vs Belair Rubis

Under 15- Gustavo Hutson 5-15 vs Belair Rubis Under 17- Daniel Mootoo 5-26 vs Saints

 Under 19- Qumar Torrington 4-12 vs MSC

 Second Div – Xaviee Smith 11 – 1 – 21 – 6 vs 

 TSC First Div – Totaram Bishun 13.2 – 3 – 35 – 6 vs PSC.

Around the Web