The new South Essequibo Cricket Committee T20 Chairman’s Cup champions, New Opportunity Corps along with chairman and sponsor, Andy Ramnarine and family.

The New Opportunity Corps (NOC) were crowned the champions of the South Essequibo Cricket Committee T20 Chairman’s Cup recently after beating Jaguars Sports Club in the final by 33 runs in a low-scoring affair.

Rising Stars won the toss and sent NOC in to bat when the match got underway after the being reduced to 15 overs-per-side. With the wicket featuring a lot of preparation moisture after heavy rainfall, NOC posted 102 all out with Jaguars Sports Club replying with a dismal 69 all out in the penultimate over.

The new champions entered the final unbeaten following the round-robin stage and duly disposed of last year’s winners, Rising Stars, in the semifinals.

Playing at the Pomona Ground in front of a decent crowd, Jaguars got the upper hand in the power play, restricting NOC to 23 -4.

However, NOC were brought back into the match when Essequibo skipper, Anthony Adams showcased his skills in scoring a pulsating 24 which included two sixes and a lone boundary off of Husbird Thomas before he was dismissed by Thomas.

Adams’ team was left in shambles with the only other batsman to show support was Joel Fortune who made 15.

Thomas picked up 4-22 with his slow bowling and was supported by Javid Azeez with 3-12.

In reply, Fortune returned with his left-arm spin to take 4-10 from his three overs. NOC were superb in their fielding, crippling the scoring with former national player, Norman Fredericks top scoring with 15. Man of the Match, Fortune, who represented Essequibo in the Guyana Cricket Board Under-19 inter-county was supported by his skipper, Akenie Adams and Shane Wong with two wickets each on the slow turning wicket.

Chairman of the South Essequibo Cricket Committee and sponsor for the tournament, Andy Ramnarine, on behalf of his family and the committee congratulated the teams for their good sportsmanship and NOC on their victory. He also thanked the crowds for their support.

The tournament saw Anthony Adams copping the best batsman prize and Azeez the best bowler trophy and the tournament’s Most Valuable Player award. Shaun Boucher for his 107 won the highest individual score award.

Around the Web