Gov’t briefs Western envoys on confidence vote

From left to right are Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan; British High Commissioner to Guyana, Greg Quinn; Prime Minister, Moses Nagamootoo; EU Ambassador to Guyana, Jernej Videtic; Deputy Chief of Mission, Terry Steers Gonzalez; Minister of State, Joseph Harmon and a representative of the Canadian High Commission. (DPI photo)

A Government of Guyana delegation yesterday met with representatives of the US, Britain, Canada and the European Union and informed them of its intentions following the December 21, no-confidence motion passed against it, the Department of Public Information (DPI) said.

Prime Minister, Moses Nagamootoo, performing the functions of president, led the delegation which included Minister of State, Joseph Harmon and Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan.

“We explained fully, the government’s position that is, we respect the constitution and will uphold the constitution,” the Prime Minister said.

He also stated that the APNU+AFC Coalition remains the government of the people and will continue to carry out its functions. 

“We are not aware of any provisions in the constitution for a caretaker government. In fact, we have been the government since we have been elected and we continue to be the government until fresh elections are held and a new government comes into office,” Nagamootoo said.

In light of the contentions surrounding the issue of what constitutes a majority,  Nagamootoo said the government is interested in settling the question of what constitutes a majority of all the elected members of the National Assembly. 

“We presented representatives of the ABCEU countries with legal opinions that were given to the government by experts and we are hoping that the Speaker will take these opinions into consideration when reviewing the vote of December 21”, he said, according to DPI. 

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo last week met with the same Western envoys to brief them on the Opposition’s position. The opposition is demanding that the government resigns forthwith and prepare for general elections in accordance with the stipulations of the constitution.

Following the passage of the motion, the government is now claiming that a majority is 34 instead of the well-established 33.


Around the Web