Galacticos wins ExxonMobil Futsal Festival

GFF President Wayne Forde [center] posing with the newly crowned ExxonMobil International Futsal Festival Champion following their 4-1 victory over Caledonia AIA of Trinidad and Tobago. Also in the photo is Director of Sports Christopher Jones.

Roraima Galacticos were crowned the Inaugural ExxonMobil International Futsal Festival Champion, defeating Caledonia AIA of Trinidad and Tobago 4-1 on Sunday at the Cliff Anderson Sports Hall, Homestretch Avenue.

 Witnessed by a near capacity crowd, the contest truly came alive in the second half, following a cagey opening half which witnessed the respective rear-guards easily thwarting the offensive lines.

 The Brazilians eventually recorded the opener under controversial circumstances in the 25th minute as a Lucas Martins strike was deemed by the official to have crossed the goal-line despite the fervent protests by the Caledonia AIA side.

Maxivon Carvalho (3rd from right] scoring Roraima Galacticos third goal during their final’s win over Caledonia AIA of Trinidad and Tobago in the ExxonMobil International Futsal Festival Championship at the Cliff Anderson Sports Hall.

 Roraima increased their lead five minutes later when  Arckson Andreazza netted, turning and lashing his effort from the right side into the lower left corner.

 The lead quickly grew to 3-0 one minute later, with Maxivon Carvalho slotting home unchallenged inside the area, after a left side pass evaded the grasp of the goalkeeper and fell into his path.

 On the receiving end for most of the second period, Jomal Williams pulled one back for Caledonia AIA in the 35th minute, converting from the penalty spot, after the Brazilians has conceded their sixth foul.

 The twin-island republic was gifted another chance to reduce the deficit in the 38thminute after being awarded another penalty kick following a clumsy challenge.

 However, the chance was spurned as the Roraima custodian smartly denied the forward from the distance. The fixture was then sealed in the 40th minute when Raphael Lopes placed his effort past the goalkeeper from the right side of the playing area into the lower left corner.

Roraima walked away with $1,200,000 and the winner’s trophy, while Caledonia AIA pocketed $600,000 and the runner-up accolade. Georgetown All-Stars defeated Team Guyana 13-7 in the third place playoff.

 Pernel Schultz bagged a hat-trick in the sixth, eighth and 17th  minute while Gregory Richardson added a three-goal haul in the first, 24th and 29th minute alongside a hat-trick from Jeremy Garrett in the 10th, 24th and 37th minute.

 Adding doubles were Hubert Pedro in the fifth and 13th and Ryan Hackett in the

Scenes from the grand finale in the ExxonMobil International Futsal Festival between Roraima Galacticos [white] and Caledonia AIA of Trinidad and Tobago at the Cliff Anderson Sports Hall.

21st and 30th minute.

 For the losers, Darren Benjamin bagged a double in the 15th and 18th minute while Andrew Murray Jr., Rudy Halley, Daniel Wilson, Jermin Junior and Colin Nelson scored in the third, 11th, 12th, 22nd and 34th minute respectively.

 With the win, Georgetown All-Stars pocketed $300,000 and a trophy while the fourth placed side  received $100,000 and a trophy.

 Lopes pocketed the Most Valuable Player and Highest Goal Scorer awards with Devon Charles of Georgetown All-Stars receiving the Best Goalkeeper award.

 Similarly, Trayon Bobb of West Demerara All-Stars received the Best Goal Scored award.

 In the earlier semi-final matches, Roraima Galacticos downed Georgetown All-Stars 4-2. Lopes bagged a brace in the 15th and 40th minute while Romailson De Jesus and Andreazza scored in the fifth and 33rd minute each.

 For Georgetown, Garrett recorded a brace in the 34th and 38th minute. In the other semi-final, Caledonia AIA overcame Team Guyana 6-5. Jerwyn Balthazar recorded two goals in the 22nd and 38th minute, while Kerry Joseph registered a double in the 35th and 36th minute.

Adding goals in the 19th and 25th minute were Kevon Woodley and Rondel Elcock respectively. On the other side, Nelson, Eusi Phillips, Wilson, Benjamin and Deon Alfred scored in the 12th, 18th, 20th, 27th and 35th minute respectively.

Around the Web