Den Amstel crowned GFF Super 16 champs

The victorious Den Amstel captain Kester Jacobs collecting the championship trophy from GFF President Wayne Forde [right] and Stag Brand Representative Nigel Worrell [left] in the presence of his celebrating team-mates

Den Amstel was crowned the Guyana Football Federation [GFF] ‘Stag Beer’ Super-16 Champions, defeating home side Buxton United 2-0 yesterday at the Buxton Community Centre ground.

O’Neil Heywood, head-coach of the victorious Den Amstel outfit during post-match comments, said, “It was overwhelming for us because it is our first major tournament that we have won, and we worked hard morning and afternoon.”

According to O’Neil, “It all started when I went to Miami and saw the level of professionalism and I said when I came back I am going to start with myself and change the way how we approached things and the players agreed with me and we set a short time goal to win the Super-16.”….

Around the Web