Showstoppers steal the show on opening night

—Guinness Greatest of the Streets

Leo Lovell [centre] of Up-Top-Bosses, in the process of challenging a Boom Bang player for the ball during the opening clash in the Guinness ‘Greatest of the Streets’ West Demerara/East Bank Demerara Zone at the Pouderoyen Tarmac

It was business as usual as three-time defending champions Showstoppers, inaugural winner West Side Ballers and ESPN secured victories on the opening night of the Guinness ‘Greatest of the Streets’ West Demerara/East Bank Demerara championship.

Hundreds of fans swarmed the Pouderoyen Tarmac for the start of the ‘Street-ball’ season and were certainly not disappointed as home side Showstoppers downed Up-Like-7 by a 3-0 scoreline.

Dexroy Adams opened the scoring in the 11th minute following a scoreless first half, before Marvin Josiah recorded a ‘Guinness Goal’ [GG] [any goal scored in the final three minutes of regulation time and extra time, will be counted as two goals] in the 19thminute.

Similarly, ESPN mauled Dream Team 4-0 in a rematch of last year’s semi-final meeting. Dennis Edwards grabbed the opener in the fourth minute, before an own goal in the 13thminute doubled the lead.

The scoreline was then sealed as Tefon Daly recorded a ‘GG’ in the 18th minute. On the other hand, West Side Ballers edged Rising Stars 1-0. Morgan Denny scored in the fourth minute.

 Meanwhile, Up-Top-Bosses dismantled Boom Bang 3-0. Amoniki Buntin recorded the first hat-trick of the event. He netted in the 2nd minute alongside a ‘GG’ in the 19th minute.

 Also, Ballers Empire squeaked past Agricola 1-0. Jamal Hamilton found the back of the net in the fifth minute. Below features the complete results of all eight contested matches.

  The tournament resumes on January 25th at the same venue. The event, which is the first zone of the annual season, features 16 teams battling in an initial round-robin format.

 The top two finishers from each group will advance to the quarterfinal round. Winner of the event will collect $500,000 and a trophy, while the runner-up will receive $250,000 and the corresponding accolade.

 On the other hand, the third and fourth place teams will pocket $200,000 and $100,000 respectively and a trophy. The other playing dates are February 1st, 6th, 8th, with the final pencilled for the 15th.

Around the Web