Bismah takes over captaincy for Windies tour

Bismah Maroof … will lead Pakistan against West Indies.

LAHORE, Pakistan, CMC – All-rounder Bismah Maroof will lead Pakistan in the upcoming limited overs series against West Indies starting Thursday in Karachi.

The 27-year-old takes over from Javeria Khan who skippered the side at the Twenty20 World Cup in the Caribbean last November.

“It’s always a privilege to be appointed captain of your country but to be named captain in a home series against a tough side like the West Indies, that too when international cricket is making a steady return to Pakistan, is a huge honour,” Bismah said.

“We have a good side, a side that has matured and blossomed in the past few months. I am sure we will put up strong performances across both the formats.”

Bismah has scored 12 half-centuries, averaging 27 from 98 ODIs and has taken 41 wickets with her leg-spin. In 92 T20Is, she boasts a strike rate of 89 with seven fifties and has claimed 35 wickets.

Pakistan will clash with the Windies in three Twenty20 Internationals before travelling to Dubai for three One-Day Internationals against the tourists from February 7-11.

The tour follows one by the Windies men’s team last April when a weakened squad played three T20 Internationals to mark the first series in Pakistan by a major cricket nation since the dead­ly at­tack on a Sri Lan­ka team bus in 2009.

Bismah expressed her gratitude to the Windies touring party, saying the relationship with the Caribbean side would only strengthen further.

“I want to thank the West Indies women’s cricket team for agreeing to visit Karachi,” she said.

“This visit will help them see and understand the passion for cricket in Pakistan. We have great friends in the West Indies women’s team, and this relationship and respect will only strengthen now.”

The squad, named last weekend, includes experienced off-spinners Sana Mir and Nida Dar.


ODI – Bismah Maroof (captain), Aiman Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Diana Baig, Javeria Khan, Kainat Imtiaz, Nahida Khan, Nashra Sandhu, Nida Dar, Saba Nazir, Sana Mir, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz (wicketkeeper), Omaima Sohail.

T20I – Bismah Maroof (captain), Aiman Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Diana Baig, Irum Javed, Javeria Khan, Nashra Sandhu, Natalia Pervaiz, Nida Dar, Sana Mir, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz (wicketkeeper), Omaima Sohail

Around the Web