Independence A takes WDCA President’s Cup title

President of the West Demerara Cricket Association Anand Sanasie hands over the winning trophy to Independence A.

Independence A defeated McGill Super Stars by 105 runs to win  the West Demerara Cricket Association’s 50-overs President’s Cup Sunday at the Joe Vieira Park Ground.

Overnight rain forced the match into a late start, resulting in a 30-overs-a-side affair and Independence A won the toss and elected to bat, piling on 158.

They then dismissed the visitors for 53 in 18.5 overs.

Mahendra Dhanpaul stroked 58 with three sixes and two fours. He was supported by Jevon Hector who contributed 34  with two fours and two sixes.

Daniel Basdeo and Abdool Razzack took four wickets each for 24 and 17 runs respectively.

In reply, Dhanpaul returned figures of 3-16 after the top order was blown away by Man-of-the-Match, Reaz Esau who ended with 3-6.

Troy Persaud was the only batsman to reach double figures, scoring 18 with two boundaries.

Independence A took home the first prize of $50,000 while McGill were rewarded with $25,000.

Around the Web