Cyclists face packed weekend

—14th annual Diamond Mineral Water and second leg of annual Cheddi Jagan Memorial race set for Saturday and Sunday

Flashback! Last year’s winners of the 21st annual Cheddi B. Jagan Memorial race along with members of the People’s Progressive Party Civic after the presentation of prizes.

Local cyclists face a packed weekend with two races, the second stage of the 22nd annual Cheddi Jagan Memorial road race and the 14th annual Diamond Mineral Water, 11-stage race set for Saturday and Sunday.

According to race organiser, Hassan Mohammed, the country’s best wheelsmen will converge on the inner circuit of the National Park, Thomas Lands from 09.00 hours on Saturday with their eyes set on the Diamond Mineral Water title.

With defending champion, Hamzah Eastman currently in the United States of America, a new champion will be crowned.  Last year Eastman copped the title in a time of one hour, 16 minutes and 39 seconds, lapping all but four of the riders to win the 35-lap feature schoolboys and Invitational race.

Junior Niles (Vets U-50), Kennard Lovell (Vets O-50), Adelie Hodge (Juveniles), Jonathan Ramsuchit (BMX 12-14), Jahiem Henry (BMX 9-12) and Jared Barrington (BMX 6-9) were among the last year’s winners.

On Sunday, the riders will travel to the Ancient County of Berbice where they will vie for the 22nd edition of the 53-mile Jagan Memorial second-leg, road race.

Bikers based in Demerara will assemble in front of Freedom House, Robb Street at 05.00 hours for transportation to the New Amsterdam Freedom House.

There, the riders will proceed to Number 55 Village and return to Port Mourant in pursuit of the checkered flag.

Alanzo Ambrose is the defending champion in the senior category, stopping the clock in a time of two hours, 11 minutes and five seconds while Junior Niles is undefeated in the Veterans under-50 division. Briton John is the current junior champion with Shanika Teixeira the female champion.

Among the front runners for Sunday’s event are Andre “Padlock” Greene, Andrew Hicks, Romello Crawford, who won the first leg of the Cheddi Jagan Memorial last weekend, Geron Williams, Paul DeNobrega, Christopher Griffith, Curtis Dey, Paul Choo-Wee-Nam, Jaikaran Sukhai, Alex Mendes, Ralph Seenarine and Ajay Gopilall.  

Around the Web