Guyana, Belize battle for CONCACAF Gold Cup spot

The Golden Jaguars will look to create history tonight by securing a spot in the CONCACAF Gold Cup at the expense of opponents Belize.

 A chance at history will be at stake tonight for the Golden Jaguars as they battle Belize in a must-win encounter in the CONCACAF Nations League from 18:30hrs at the National Track & Field Centre, Leonora.

It will be the second meeting of the nations, with the winner advancing to the prestigious 2019 CONCACAF Gold Cup. The first ever engagement occurred in 2002 and ended 3-1 in favour of the visitors, who are commonly known as the ‘Jaguars’.

Ranked 177th on the FIFA chart, the Golden Jaguars currently sits on six points and in eighth position.

This follows a lopsided 8-0 win against Turks & Caicos, while the Guyanese were awarded full points [and a 3-0 victory] against Barbados, after it was ruled that the Islanders fielded two ineligible players during their match [which originally ended 2-2].

Guyana’s only loss to date came at the hands of French Guiana via a 2-1 score line.

On the other hand, a win for the 160th FIFA ranked visitors, who are also on six points but in 13th place, would seal their second appearance in the event following their 2013 participation.

 Home victories were recorded against Bahamas [4-0 on matchday-1] and Puerto Rico [1-0 on matchday-3], with their only defeat coming against a formidable Montserrat side [1-0 on matchday-3], a team that fields more than 70 percent of foreign based players.

The Golden Jaguars playing roster, which consists of 16 foreign born and/or based players reads Goalkeeper Akel Clarke, Alex Murray, Sese Norville, Defenders Sam Cox, Kevin Layne, Reiss Greenidge, Elliot Bonds, Terrence Vancooten, Ronaye Marsh-Brown, Walter Moore, Midfielders Neil Danns, Anthony Jeffrey, Warren Creavalle, Kadell Daniel, Trayon Bobb, Clive Nobrega, Stephen Duke-McKenna, Forwards Marcel Barrington, Sheldon Holder, Keanu Marsh-Brown, Pernell Schultz, Gregory Richardson and Emery Welshman.

The Head-Coach is Michael Johnson with Charles Pollard and Paul Williams serving as Assistant Coaches.

Similarly, Ademola Bankole and Eon DeVeira are the assistant goalkeeper and goalkeeper coach respectively.

Alex Hawkins is the Team Doctor, with Denzel Hernandez and Wilson Toledo the Physiotherapist and Head of Sports Science respectively.

Faizal Khan will serve once more as Head of Recruitment with Asser Lutu the Performance Analyst. Also, Rawle Adams in the Team Operations Manager, while Trevor Burnett and Levi Braithwaite are the Equipment Manager and Assistant Equipment Manager respectively.

Belize’s complete playing roster reads Goalkeeper Shane Orio, Woodrow West, Defenders Elroy Smith, Evral Trapp, Ian Gaynair, Dalton Eiley Jr, Trevor Lennen, Michael Atkinson, Midfielders Daniel Jimenez, San Mendez, Elroy Kuylen Jr, Nahjib Guerra, Krisean Lopez, Andres Makin, Nana Mensah, Forwards Harrison Roches, Michael Salazar Jr, Deon McCaulay and Randy Padilla.

 Palmiro Salas is the head-coach, with Dale Pelayo and Kent Gray are the assistant and goalkeeping coaches respectively.

 Ernest Morris is the Physical Trainer, with Herbert Trap, Denys Belisle, Carlos Crespo, Wilhelm Miguel and Ian Francis Haylock serving as Equipment, Manager, Physiotherapist, Doctor, Team Manager and Head of Delegation respectively.


Around the Web