President’s College schools Queen’s College at Milo football

Christianburg/Wismar, Annandale Secondary, Vergenoegen and President’s College earned quarterfinal berths when the Milo Secondary School Football Championship, resumed yesterday at the Ministry of Education ground, Carifesta Avenue.

 Christianburg/Wismar downed Canje 3-1. Tyrese Lewis bagged a double in the 42nd and 45th minute, with Andre Mayers chipping in with a 31st minute effort.

 For Canje, Rivaldo Hetmeyer found the back of the net in the 30th minute.

In another fixture, Annandale Secondary crushed Friendship 3-0.

 Jerome Harrigon recorded a double in the 58th and 60th minute each. Adding a goal in the 48th minute was Seon Heywood.

 Similarly, President’s College schooled Queen’s College 3-1. JeShawn Daly recorded a brace in the 66th and 79th minute, while Gordon Stevens netted in the 61st minute.

For Queen’s College, Diarra Thomas etched his name on the scorer’s sheet in the 51st minute.

 Also, Vergenoegen dismantled St. Cuthbert’s Mission 2-0. Jomar Levans and Ronaldo Macey scored in the 71st and 78th minute respectively.

 The final round of 16 matches will be staged today at the same venue. St. John’s College will oppose St. Stanislaus College from 15:30hrs, with Lodge Secondary battling Tucville at 17:30hrs

.Winner of the competition receives $500,000 towards a school project and the championship trophy.

Similarly, the second, third and fourth-placed sides pocket $300,000, $200,000 and $100,000 respectively towards a school initiative and a trophy.

Around the Web