Lodge Secondary, St John’s College earn quarterfinal berths

Lodge Secondary and St. John’s College secured hard-fought wins to earn quarterfinal berths when the Milo Secondary School Football Championships resumed yesterday at the Ministry of Education ground, Carifesta Avenue.

 Lodge Secondary downed Tucville 5-3. Dorwin George bagged a double in the 18th and 22nd minute while Kurt Edwards added a brace in the 29th and 69th minute.

 Chipping in with a 34th minute effort was Shemroy Mayers. For the losers, Derwin Jones tallied a brace in the 62nd and 73rd minute while Simeon Benn netted in the 17th minute.

 Similarly, St. John’s College edged St. Stanislaus 4-3. Akeel Bennett, Tyrese Saunders, Jaheem McPherson and Samuel Gouveia scored in the 33rd, 44th, 53rd and 76th minute each.

 For the losers, Daniel Persaud, Jeremiah Samson and Josiah King netted in the 32nd, 35th and 56th minute respectively. The tournament continues on Saturday with the quarterfinal round of matches.

 Winner of the competition receives $500,000 towards a school project and the championship trophy.

 Similarly, the second, third and fourth-placed sides pocket $300,000, $200,000 and $100,000 respectively towards a school initiative and a trophy.

 Complete Results

St. Stanislaus-3 vs St. John’s College

St. John’s Scorers

Akeel Bennett-33rd

Tyrese Saunders-44th

Jaheem McPherson-53rd

Samuel Gouveia-76th

St. Stanislaus Scorers

Daniel Persaud-32nd

Jeremiah Samson-35th

Josiah King-56th


Lodge Secondary-5 vs Tucville-3

Lodge Scorers

Dorwin George-18th and 22nd

Kurt Edwards-29th and 69th

Shemroy Mayers-34th

Tucville Scorers

Simeon Benn-17th

Derwin Jones-62nd and 73rd

Around the Web