Sabga awardees

Two Guyanese were among the recipients of this year’s Anthony N. Sabga Caribbean Awards for Excellence. The laureates included sculptor  Winslow Craig nominated for Arts and Letters while Arif Bulkan was nominated for his work as a lawyer under the Public and Civic Contributions category. Trinidadian composer, Kwame Ryan and Grenadian entrepreneur Shadek Nyack Compton rounded out the 2017 laureates. This year’s ceremony, held at the Guyana Marriott Hotel on Saturday marked the first time the awards were held outside of Trinidad and Tobago. The ceremony took on extra poignancy as Anthony Sabga passed away earlier this month in Trinidad at the age of 94. Each recipient receives a gold medal and citation and TT$500,000.

From left are Winslow Craig; Shadek Nyack Compton; Sir Shridath Ramphal, a member of the selection panel; President David Granger; Norman Sabga. Chairman of ANSA McAl; Kwame Ryan and Arif Bulkan. (Ministry of the Presidency photo)