Hosororo crowned Region One champs after defeating Matthews Ridge

Hosororo was crowned Region One champs in the Digicel Schools Football Championships after upsetting highly-favoured debutant Matthew’s Ridge 2-1 Monday at the Mabaruma Community Centre ground.

The contest was effectively decided in the first half when Shem Romascindo recorded his double in the 21st and 25th minute of the 70 minutes affair, sealing his team’s maiden championship in their second consecutive finals appearance.

For Matthews Ridge, Keanu Williams scored in the 41st minute. With the win, Hosororo will face-off with Region Two winner Charity Secondary on Sunday at a venue to be announced.

The contest, which was viewed by a capacity crowd, was highlighted by the poor finishing of Williams in the opening exchanges when the forward was presented with golden opportunities to seal the contest.

The nippy striker should have given his side the lead in the seventh minute. Racing into the box after stealing the ball off the final defender, Williams delayed his attempt allowing the defender to recover and tackle the ball to safety.

Williams once again spurned a great opportunity in the 17th minute. Skipping past his marker to be in another one-on-one situation he was denied by the onrushing goalkeeper.

The struggles continued for Williams two minutes later when his curling free-kick from 22 yards out in the centre of the field, was smartly saved by the goalkeeper to his right.

Hosororo was made to pay for their failures to convert with Romascindo netting via a 25-yard strike from the centre of the field into the top right corner, after it was poorly judged by the goalkeeper, who misread the flight of the ball.

Romascindo made his presence felt once more finding the back of the net compliments of a right foot strike into the centre of the net, from inside the right of the penalty area.

Matthew’s Ridge was denied from reducing the deficit in the 32nd minute when Williams struck the crossbar with a right foot thunderbolt, after cutting into the box from the left of the field.

The woodwork once again denied Williams in the 37th minute, as a lobbed shot from the left side of the field crashed into the crossbar, with the goalkeeper well beaten.

Williams eventually pulled one back for Matthew’s Ridge. Racing onto a pass following a combination on the left side, he then lobbed the ball with his left foot into the right corner.

Michael Allick almost restored parity to proceedings in the 64th minute, directing his powerful volley from the top of the box, straight at the custodian.

Meanwhile, Matthew’s Ridge overpowered three-time zone champion Santa Rosa 1-0 in the earlier contest. Williams recorded a brilliant 48th minute conversion, to settle the semifinal fixture.

Controlling a right side corner-kick with his chest inside the left of the penalty box, Williams flicked ball over the onrushing defender, before unleashing a right foot volley into the left side.

The championships conclude on July 31st and features more than 120 schools from each of the 10 administrative regions, competing in an elimination format.

Chase Academy is the defending champion, with Christianburg/Wismar the most successful school with four consecutive titles (2012, 2013, 2014, and 2015) in six successive final appearances.

The other winner of the tourney was GTI in the inaugural edition (2011). Victor of the event will receive $1,000,000 towards a school project and a trophy.

The second, third and fourth place finishers will collect $700,000, $400,000 and $350,000 towards a school initiative and the respective accolade.

Around the Web