South American presidents announce creation of new regional bloc

SANTIAGO,  (Reuters) – A group of South American leaders signed a declaration to create a regional bloc of nations they say is open to any country, regardless of ideology, to collaborate on solving regional problems.

Presidents from Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Chile, Ecuador, Paraguay, and Peru attended the summit in Santiago. Chile and Colombia had led the push for the new political grouping after criticism that the previous regional bloc, called Unasur, failed to take action on Venezuela. Guyana was represented by its Ambassador to Brazil, George Talbot.

(From left) Guyana’s Ambassador George Talbot, Brazil’s President Jair Bolsonaro, Argentina’s President Mauricio Macri, Colombia’s President Ivan Duque, Peru’s President Martin Vizcarra, Paraguay’s President Mario Abdo Benitez, Chile’s President Sebastian Pinera and Ecuador’s President Lenin Moreno attend the Prosur summit, at the presidential palace La Moneda, in Santiago, Chile March 22, 2019. REUTERS/Rodrigo GarridoReuters




Around the Web