Transparency body to stage anti-corruption march on Monday

To mark the occasion of International Anti-Corruption Day, the Transparency Institute Guyana Inc. (TIGI) has organized a march on Monday, December 9th commencing 10.00 a.m. from Umana Yana to Parliament Buildings and back.
A release today from TIGI said that this is an event that is open to participation by the public. It has extended invitations to President Donald Ramotar, Prime Minister Sam Hinds, Presidential Advisor Gail Teixeira, Opposition leader David Granger, Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine, Public Accounts Committee Chairman Carl Greenidge, and Alliance for Change leader Khemraj Ramjattan, to join the march.
Also invited are the Private Sector Commission and the Georgetown Chamber of Commerce.
” We of course encourage all Members of Parliament, non-governmental organizations, the trade union movement and the general public to participate in this day of observance.
As we observe the International Anti-Corruption Day, let us remember: (a) the proportion of people worldwide whose income is less than US$1.25 a day; (b) the unemployed, including women and young people; (c) those who suffer from hunger; and (d) the 1.2 billion worldwide who live in extreme poverty. Perhaps the best way to remember these unfortunate victims is the observance of a day of fasting which we encourage as many people as possible to undertake.”

Join the Conversation

After you comment, click Post. If you're not already logged in you will be asked to log in or register.

The Comments section is intended to provide a forum for reasoned and reasonable debate on the newspaper's content and is an extension of the newspaper and what it has become well known for over its history: accuracy, balance and fairness. We reserve the right to edit/delete comments which contain attacks on other users, slander, coarse language and profanity, and gratuitous and incendiary references to race and ethnicity. We moderate ALL comments, so your comment will not be published until it has been reviewed by a moderator.