Fay-Ann wins Road March by wide margin

(Trinidad Express) – It was the season for multiple wins as the National Carnival Commission (NCC) announced the winners of Carnival 2009 at the new VIP lounge at the Queen’s Park Savannah, Port of Spain, yesterday.

Fay-Ann Lyons-Alvarez took the Road March title again this year with her song, “Meet SuperBlue”, adding the crown to her growing collection for 2009. She also won the International Soca Monarch and Groovy Soca Monarch at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain, last Friday.

“Meet SuperBlue”, a tribute to her lineage, was played a whopping 410 times, while Destra Garcia’s “Bacchanal” coming in a distant second after being played 76 times.

The announcement was made by the Trinbago Unified Calypsonians Organisation (TUCO) secretary general, Lutola Masimba, also known as Brother Resistance.

TUCO also announced that it had re-tabulated the results from the Calypso Monarch competition on Dimanche Gras night and realised that there were no ties. It therefore gave a readjusted list of results.

Masman Brian MacFarlane copped the coveted George Bailey Band of the Year title for the third year in a row. His presentation ‘Africa-Her People, Her glory, Her tears’ earned 1,378 points, 48 points more than his closest competitor, Trini Revellers, who portrayed ‘Sweet TnT -A tribute to Trinidad and Tobago’.

Around the Web