National Sport Commission Awards 2008

The Sportsman of the Year win proved to be another record for Chanderpaul who surpassed Clive Lloyd’s previous total of four Sportsman of the Year awards.

Lloyd won his accolades in 1968, 1981, 1983 and 1984.

Chanderpaul previously won in 1996 and 1998 and shared the award with the late former boxing champion Andrew Murray Jnr. in 1994.

Eighteen year old Alika Morgan also made history when she was crowned both junior and senior sportswoman for 2008.

Morgan was commended by Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport, Dr Frank Anthony who recalled that Morgan was unbeaten in all of her races last year. According to Dr Anthony, Chanderpaul’s feats continue to climb unsurpassable heights.

He recalled that the first sportsman of the year award which was held in 1955 saw  Deryck Phang, Lawn tennis, and Clem Fields, Athletics sharing the award.

Dr Anthony praised the athletes for the commitment they showed to their respective sporting disciplines stating that what they accomplished was also for their country.

Dr Anthony said that the  government understood the importance of sports and as such the building, repairing and maintenance of facilities for athletes will not be forgotten.

He added that the government was continuing to work with local federations and associations to improve the respective disciplines.

Commonwealth Youth Games silver medallist Clevon Rock won the junior Sportsman of the Year award while Niall Roberts and Keisha Jeffrey were declared runner up Sportsman and Woman of the Year respectively.

Blind West Indies Cricketer Oliver Kerr, who averages over 92 with the bat, won the Person with Disability award.

Alpha United football team coach Wayne Dover was declared Coach of the Year while the Guyana (women) Rugby Sevens team took home the Team-of-the-Year award.

President of the Guyana Amateur Boxing Association (GABA) Affeeze Khan won the Male Sports Personality of the Year while international football referee Dianne Ferreira James won the women’s equivalent.

The Guyana Amateur Swimming Associating (GASA) was voted the Most Improved Association while the Guyana Rugby Football Union (GRFU) copped the Sports Association of the Year award.

Kaieteur News’ Rawle Welch and Franklin Wilson copped the Print Journalist and Photographer of the Year awards respectively.

No non-print sports journalist was identified for the award for 2008.

Around the Web