Morgan and Forde named AAG 2008 Athletes-of-the-Year

D’ Andrade, Johnson and Jonas are runners-up

National distance athletes Cleveland Forde and Alika Morgan were named male and female 2008 athletes-of-the-year respectively when the Athletics Association of Guyana (AAG) held its annual awards ceremony at Olympic House Friday evening.
And for the first time the AAG had a tie in the runner-up position for the male award with Kelvin Johnson and Lionel D’ Andrade taking the spot together  while Janella Jonas was adjudged runner-up in the female athlete-of-the-year award.
Morgan and Forde enjoyed much success in 2008 winning several events both locally and around the Caribbean. They were both recipients of the prestigious National Sports Commission (NSC) Sportsman and Sportswoman-of-the-Year awards with Ford winning in 2006 while Morgan secured the double in the Junior and Senior categories last year.

President of the AAG Colin Boyce lauded the two athletes for their achievements over the years and he also charged them to continue improving.

Around the Web