Women lawyers association elects new executive

Gaitree Ramona Rookhum was on Thursday elected as the new President of the Guyana Association of Women Lawyers.

Rookhum’s election took place at the organization’s Annual General Meeting, where the new executive for the fiscal year 2017-2018 was elected.

According to a statement issued by the association, the other members of the new executive are: Vice-

Gaitree Ramona Rookhum

President Shellon Boyce; Secretary Chandrawattie Persaud; Treasurer Alanna Lall; Assistant Secretary/Treasurer Nekeisha Persaud; and Committee Members Jaya Singh Backreedy, Denise Hodge, Coleen Sparman-Stephen and Anita Mohan-Hamilton.

The statement said Rookhum was admitted to practice in 2008, where she joined the chambers of Hughes, Fields and Stoby. She is currently associate to Richard B. Fields, Esq, SC, and practicing general civil law.

It was noted that she takes the helm as the association is celebrating its 30-year anniversary, after being founded in 1987 by former Chancellor Madame Justice Desiree Bernard, the first female judge of the Caribbean Court of Justice, and with the late Deborah Backer as its charter secretary.

Around the Web