Hamilton Green Cup final promises to be a titanic, mouth-watering clash

Dwain Jacobs

Defending champion Guyana Police Force (GPF) battles Winners Connection today from 21:00hrs, in what promises to be a titanic, mouth-watering clash in the grand finale of the Hamilton Green Football Cup at the Mackenzie Sports Club ground (MSC), Linden.

For many pundits, the lawmen are the clear favourites for the title following impressive displays throughout the event.

The most recent arrest occurred in their 5-1 hammering of Soesdyke Falcons in the semi-final.

On the other hand, Winners Connection downed fellow Linden unit Milerock 3-1 in their semi-final.

Philbert Moffat,

Although the contest is being staged in the backyard of Winners Connection, the sheer quality of the GPF frontline will require a monumental task for the hosts to overcome. Dwain Jacobs, leads a quality strike-force that is second to none on local shores. The deputies of Quincy Holder, Philbert Moffat, Sharma Fraser, Steffon Ramsay and Rawle Haynes are proven match winners and will provide a constant threat to the opposing backline.

For Winners Connection, the experienced duo of Keon Sears and Rawle Gittens alongside rising star Marmarlaque Davidson, will be needed to shoulder the offensive efforts of the home side.

Gittens is renowned for his play-making ability which will be greatly needed if the strike duo of Sears and Davidson are to find the back of the net on a consistent basis.

Steffon Ramsay

Defensively, versatile defender Derrol Dainty will be required to shepherd the rearguard, against the expected raids of the visitors. His contribution and overall leadership could prove to be the difference on the night for the home side.

Meanwhile, the third place playoff will pit Milerock against surprise package Soesdyke Falcons at 19:00hrs. Winner of the event will pocket $500,000 and the Ministry of Citizenship trophy, while the runner-up takes home $250,000 and the Busta trophy.

The third and fourth placed finishers will walk away with $150,000 and $100,000 along with trophies donated by John Fernandes Ltd., and Cummings Electrical respectively.

Around the Web