Hikers, Toronto Academy clinch hockey titles

By Iva Wharton

The 2012 Diamond Mineral Water Indoor Hockey Tournament concluded last night with first-time participants Toronto Academy walking away with the ladies title, while Hikers won the Veterans and Men’s categories. The tournament was played at the National Gymnasium.

In the first final, Hikers defeated GCC 5-4 after a go-ahead goal from Tristan Gomes in the 45th minute. Other scorers for Hikers were: Brian Asgregado in the 1st minute, two goals were scored by Devin Munroe in the 5th and 26th minutes followed by Sheldon Corlette in the 33rd.

The scorers for GCC were Phillip Fernandes in the 10th minute, Alan Fernandes in the 13th and 31st minutes while Devin Hooper scored their last goal in the 38th minute.

Hikers Men- Demerara Distillers Ltd Marketing Assistant Trishwantie Doodnauth presents the winning trophy to Hikers Captain Robert France yesterday.

In the second final between the Trinidadians and Canadians, the Canadians proved to be the better team with their 6-2 defeat of Magnolias. This is the Toronto Academy’s first time in the championship.  The scorers for the Toronto Academy were: Ally Evanyshyn with three goals in the 8th, 12th and 27th minutes, Chelcie Mendonca in the 22nd minute and a double from Kaelan Watson in the 26th and 29th minutes.

Mika Tang and Stacey Butts scored for Magnolias in the 2nd and 13th minutes.  At half time the score was two-all however, that changed in the second half of the competition when the Canadian ladies returned to the court.  Five-time champions Hikers defeated GCC to win the men’s final by a 3-1 margin. Jerazeno Bell in the 20th minute, Robert France in the 36th minute followed by Aroydy Branford in the 38th minute were the scorers for Hikers. Orlando Semple in the last minute of the game, managed to score one for GCC.  It was a struggle for GCC and they just could not find the net despite their best efforts.

Digicel’s Sponsorship and Events Manager Gavin Hope presents the winning trophy to Toronto Academy Captain Kri Shier.

Apart from cash prizes and trophies, several individual prizes were also awarded to the Most Goal Scorers: Phillip Fernandes with 8 goals in the veteran’s category, Robert France of Hikers also with 8 goals in the Men’s and Stacey Sue Butt of Magnolias with 18 goals in the ladies category.

Most Valuable Players were: Devin Munroe of Hikers, Rohan Thomas of YMCA and Stacey Sue Butt of Magnolias.

The Best Goalkeepers were: Azad DeAbreu of Hikers, Pradeep Kumar of GCC and Alysia Xavier of GCC.

GCC’s Leonard George (second from right) presents the winning trophy and first prize of US$500 to Hikers Captain Brian Asgregado.

More in Sports


About these comments

The comments section is intended to provide a forum for reasoned and reasonable debate on the newspaper's content and is an extension of the newspaper and what it has become well known for over its history: accuracy, balance and fairness. We reserve the right to edit or delete comments which contain attacks on other users, slander, coarse language and profanity, and gratuitous and incendiary references to race and ethnicity.

Get the day's headlines from SN in your inbox every morning:

Most Read This Week

  1. Passenger dies aboard CAL flight en route to New York

  2. Guyanese woman killed after car hit by NY drunk driving cop

  3. Man who died on CAL flight identified as Bath resident

  4. Guyanese remitting $$ from US may have to help pay for Trump wall

  5. Man who died on CAL flight identified as Bath resident

  6. Pastor sentenced to 18 years for rape of six-year-old

  7. Nandlall charged with fraudulent conversion of $2M law reports

  8. Former AG Nandlall arrested over law reports

  9. City constable shoots robber after attack on pensioner

Recommended For You