GCB senior Inter-County One-Day competition bowls off today

-Demerara opposes Essequibo, President’s XI to face Berbice

Despite the fact that a number of the country’s top limited overs cricketers are on duty with the national T20 side which will participate in the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) Regional T20 competition starting tomorrow in Trinidad and Tobago, the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) is going ahead with its staging of the annual Inter-County limited overs competition.

According to a press release from the GCB the competition will commence today with two matches at the Everest and Demerara Cricket Club grounds.

Travis Dowlin
Travis Dowlin

The release added that the four day competition will immediately follow.

“All county boards are reminded that only players participating in these competitions or those on national duties will be eligible for selection to the national squad to participate in the WICB regional one day and four day competitions,” the GCB release stated.

The GCB has returned to the four team format with the three Inter-County teams, Berbice, Demerara and Essequibo being joined by a President’s XI.

Essequibo will have the opportunity of reversing its fortunes as they face off with Demerara at the Everest Cricket ground.

The team faces a Demerara side with both national and Test experience, with former West Indies Test player Travis Dowlin strengthening Demerara’s already potent batting line up which includes Rajendra Chandrika, Shemroy Barrington, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Vishal Singh and former Test opener Ryan Ramdass.

But what the Essequibo team lacks in experience they may aspire to make amends for with youth as several young players have been included in the squad in  Mark Tyrell, Ricardo Adams and Herrell and Herry Greene who have all graduated from the junior ranks.

Assad Fudadin
Assad Fudadin

A few of the Demerara team’s bowlers will be eager to try and cement a  spot on the Regional Super50 team after missing out on the Caribbean CT20 team.

They include contrasting spinners Amir Khan and Zaheer Mohamed, who bowl leg and off spin respectively and will be tipped to share the spin bowling duties as Everest has been their home ground.

However, Demerara possesses a wealth of bowling options in Andre Stoll, Paul Wintz, Totaram Bishun and Kellon Carmichael.

In the other game Berbice will compete against the President’s XI at the Demerara Cricket Club (DCC) ground in Queenstown. This match promises to be an intriguing one as the President’s XI has been known for its fighting spirit since its inclusion in the Inter County tournaments.

Berbice also possess players with national and test experience in captain Assad Fudadin and opening batsman Sewnarine Chattergoon. They will be supported by the likes of Richard Ramdeen and Gajanand Singh.

Sewnarine Chattergoon
Sewnarine Chattergoon

Berbice’s bowling attack will be led by the quick Keon Joseph with Clinton Pestano, Gudakesh Motie-Kanhai and Shawn Pereira lending  support.

The President’s XI will be led by left-handed all rounder Eugene La Fleur, and the skipper will have at his disposal a strong bowling attack, with Combined Campuses and Colleges pacer Gilford Moore chosen along with Test pacer Brandon Bess and the improving Joshua Wade.

The squad also includes spinners Raj Nannan, Steven Latcha, and Collis Butts and the exciting batting talent of Tagenarine Chanderpaul supported by Kevon Boodie, Elton Baker and former National and West Indies ‘B’ batsman Krishna Arjune.


Ronsford Beaton
Ronsford Beaton

Berbice: Sewnarine Chattergoon, Richard Ramdeen, Shemron Hetmyer, Assad Fudadin (captain), Gajanand Singh, Jason Sinclair, Krisendat Ramoo, Eon Hooper, Jamal Khan, Delbert Hicks, Keon Joseph, Clinton Pestano, Gudakesh Motie and Shawn Pereira. Julian Cambridge (Manager), Julian Moore (Coach).

President’s XI Inter-County Squad (50 overs and 4-day) Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Krishna Arjune, Kevon Boodie, Elton Baker, Jeetendra Sukdeo, Devon Clements, Anthony Bramble, Dexter Solomon, Eugene La Fleur(Captain), Raj Nannan, Stephen Latcha, Collis Butts, Brandon Bess, Gilford Moore and Joshua Wade. Dru Bahadur (Manager), Adrian Amsterdam (coach).

Demerara: Rajendra Chandrika, Ryan Ramdass, Shemroy Barrington, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Vishal Singh, Travis Dowlin, Zaheer Mohamed, Amir Khan, Joseph Perry, Paul Wintz, Kellon Carmichael, Andre Stoll, Robin Bacchus and Totaram Bishun. Shaun Massiah (manager) Orin Bailey (coach).

Tagenarine Chanderpaul
Tagenarine Chanderpaul

Essequibo: Kenzo Baksh, Mark Tyrell, Rayon Fredericks (captain), Dellon Heyliger, Jason Heyliger, Herrel Greene, Herry Greene, Anthony Adams, Ricardo Adams, Grayson Paul, Roopesh Motilall, Wayne Osborne, Mustapha Zaman and Vijai Surujpaul. Vibert Johnson (coach) Atto Christiani (manager).

All matches begin at 9:30 hrs. and teams play their second game tomorrow when Demerara plays the President’s XI at Everest and Berbice plays Essequibo at DCC.

More in Sports


About these comments

The comments section is intended to provide a forum for reasoned and reasonable debate on the newspaper's content and is an extension of the newspaper and what it has become well known for over its history: accuracy, balance and fairness. We reserve the right to edit or delete comments which contain attacks on other users, slander, coarse language and profanity, and gratuitous and incendiary references to race and ethnicity.

Most Read This Week

  1. Driver in fatal Liliendaal crash on DUI charge

  2. Sheet Anchor man beats, chops wife to death

  3. Cap on ministers’ housing allowance was increased to $500,000 in 2015

  4. SOCU actively seeking Brassington, Ashni Singh

  5. Caribbean Container Inc announces 36-month closure of recycling plant

  6. Teacher who was found with husband’s dead body commits suicide

  7. Ramotar defends Brassington, Singh

  8. Couple hijacked at Ogle seawall, robbed of car, valuables

  9. CH&PA sets model houses price at $6.5m

Recommended For You