Greaves wins Cheddi Jagan Memorial race

-despite third leg defeat by Godfrey Pollydore

Godfrey Pollydore out sprinted Alanzo Greaves to win the third and final leg of the Cheddi Jagan Memorial road race in a thrilling sprint finish yesterday in Essequibo, but Greaves’ +consistency enabled him to lift the overall trophy of this year’s event.

By virtue of a second place finish in the first leg, winning the second leg and placing second yesterday,

Godfrey Pollydore edges Alanzo Greaves to take the spoils of the third and final leg of the 17th annual Cheddi Jagan Memorial event. (Orlando Charles photo)
Godfrey Pollydore edges Alanzo Greaves to take the spoils of the third and final leg of the 17th annual Cheddi Jagan Memorial event. (Orlando Charles photo)

the Roraima Bikers Club standout was crowned this year’s champion.

In yesterday’s 55-mile trek, which pedaled off from Supenaam, proceeded to Charity and ended at Anna Regina, Pollydore won in two hours, 10 minutes and 24 seconds, led Greaves and last year’s overall winner, Raynauth Jeffrey onto the podium.

Team United’s Orville Hinds and Hamza Eastman were fourth and fifth respectively while Robin Persaud placed sixth.

Yesterday’s race commenced as cool as the weather in the Cinderella County and there was not much theatrics on the upward journey.

When the wheelsmen turned back at Charity, Marlon ‘Fishy’ Williams had a slim lead ahead of a chase pack comprising Greaves, Jeffrey, Persaud and Eastman.

Hinds, Pollydore and winner of the third leg last year, Paul DeNobrega were lurking.

Greaves, Jeffrey, Persaud and Eastman however connected with Williams at Paradise and the five riders then started to play a game of ‘cat and mouse’.

With the leaders toying with each other Hinds, Pollydore and DeNobrega managed to connect with the leaders about a mile from the finish.

The eight cyclists then journeyed together until about 200m to go.

At this point, a fierce sprint to the line ensued. Hinds had a slight lead at 100m. At 50m to go, Greaves was in the lead with Jeffrey on his wheels. But Pollydore powered past both riders to earn the win.

Michael Anthony who won the first stage was also a winner yesterday, but this time in the junior category.

Naomi Singh (female), Clyde Jacobs (Mountain Bike) and Eon Jackson (veteran) were also categorical winners yesterday.

Notes: The sum of 50 riders started in yesterday’s race. The Memorial event is in its 17th year. It is held to commemorate the life and works of former president, Cheddi Berret Jagan.

Jagan would have celebrated his 96th birth anniversary on Saturday. The initial leg was staged on the roadways of West Demerara while the second leg was held in Berbice.

Yesterday’s event was sponsored by S.Jagmohan Hardware Supplies and Constructing Services for the seventh consecutive year.

More in Sports

The victorious Trinidad and Tobago women’s T20 side celebrate their T20 triumph.

Trinidad captures WICB women’s T20 title

Anisa Mohammed produced another sterling all-round performance which allowed Trinidad and Tobago to hoist the 2016 West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) Regional T20 title after beating Jamaica by two wickets in Monday night’s final played at the Providence National Stadium.

Garfield Wiltshire

Squash players performed “beyond expectations”

Manager of the Guyana Junior Squash Team to the recent Caribbean Junior Squash Championships in the Cayman Islands Garfield Wiltshire said the recent performance of securing Guyana’s 12th overall Team Title was outstanding and that the players performed beyond expectations.

Clinton Urling, Proprietor of German’s Restaurant hands over the sponsorship cheque to Kanimas skipper Nia Gonsalves in the presence of Guyana Baseball League (GBL) President Robin Singh.

German’s Restaurant sponsors baseball team

German’s Restaurant became the latest sponsors of the Guyana Under-21Women’s Baseball team which is preparing to make history come next month when they visit Halifax, Canada to play in an invitational tournament from August 4-8.

default placeholder

Jetty Gunners crowned champs after edging Sparta Boss

Jetty Gunners were crowned the second annual `Ballers in the Summer Street Football Champions’ after edging Sparta Boss 1-0 via penalty kicks in the final on Saturday at the Pouderoyen Tarmac.

Dilma Rousseff

Brazil’s Rousseff turns down Olympic opening invite -aide

BRASILIA, (Reuters) – Brazil’s suspended President Dilma Rousseff has decided not to attend the torch ceremony opening the Rio 2016 Olympic Games, an aide said yesterday, one day after she said in an interview she would not play second fiddle to interim President Michel Temer.

Thomas Bach

IOC’s Bach is part of doping problem, says discus champion Harting

(Reuters) – Germany’s Olympic discus champion Robert Harting has launched a stinging attack on International Olympic Committee (IOC) president Thomas Bach, describing him as part of the problem in the fight against doping.


About these comments

The comments section is intended to provide a forum for reasoned and reasonable debate on the newspaper's content and is an extension of the newspaper and what it has become well known for over its history: accuracy, balance and fairness. We reserve the right to edit or delete comments which contain attacks on other users, slander, coarse language and profanity, and gratuitous and incendiary references to race and ethnicity.

Stay updated! Follow Stabroek News on Facebook or Twitter.

Get the day's headlines from SN in your inbox every morning: