Unstoppables fail to live up to name

Unstoppables table tennis team comprising Anthony Niles and Ronaldo Bharrat failed to live up to their name going down 0-3 to the Golden Girls team of Trenace Lowe and Michelle John in Division B action when play in the Dennis Patterson memorial table tennis team competition got underway on Saturday at the Cliff Anderson Sports Hall.

Some nine teams have been divided into two groups (A and B) in this division which is mainly for advanced players with Outlaws, Terror Squad, DeBrakes and NP Electronics in Group A and Golden Girls, Underdogs, Unstoppable, Deadly Spin and Halex in Group B.

In Group A results: Outlaws (Joel Alleyne and Darwin Walcott) defeated Terror Squad (Ryan Chin, Ambrose Thomas and Brian Duncan) 3-1 while

DeBrakes (Edinho Lewis and Hewley Griffith) defeated Terror Squad 3-0.

In Group B Underdogs (Nigel Bryan and Devon Richmond) defeated Halex (Jody-Ann and Morton Blake and Xenophen Goliath) 3-1.

In Division C which is for Intermediate players 11 teams have been divided into two groups and in Group `A’ Loopers (Ambrose Thomas and Brian Duncan) defeated Mae’s `B’ (Tren Phillips, Shamar Muntu and Brandon Milnew) 3-0 while France One (Tiffany Blair and Adeille Rosheuvel) defeated Young Champions (Ryan Grant and Curtis Newton) 3-2.

Young Champions, however, recovered to defeat Business School Team 1 (Seweon McGarrell, Keiron Noel and Abdool Raheem) 3-0.

In Group `B’ Mae’s “A” (Junior DaSilva and Denzil Hopkinson) defeated Business School team 2 (Ulwin Mundy, Deion Jerrick and Hausani Vanlewin) 3-0; Three Amigos (Dwayne Gibson, Anfernee Patterson and Terrence Thompson) defeated Barcelona (Ryan Chin, Samuel Fraser and Dillon Mahadeo) 3-1.

In Division E’ (semi intermediate) four teams are contesting the round robin event and in first round results Spin Killers (Elishaba Johnson and Joshua Sue-Ho) defeated France Two (Analisa Branche and Britney Prescod) 3-0 while Mae’s School `C’ (Chelsea Edghill, Tina Narine and Kyle Edghill) defeated Business School (Akeem Valz, Akil Saul and Collis Richardson) 3-0.

The tournament continues today at the Cliff Anderson Sports Hall from 15:30 hours while Division “A” (Seniors and Advanced players) and division “D” (Business Entities, Corporation and Government Agencies) will swing into action tomorrow from 15:00 hours.

Around the Web