B’ce powerhouses clash in Busta Champion-of-Champions final

The 2007 Busta Champion-of-Champions final will be played today at the Area ‘H’ ground between two of Berbice power house teams in Albion Cricket Club and Rose Hall Town Windies Sports Bar (RHTWSB).

The 50-overs-a-side affair is set to commence from 09:30h and a very exciting battle is forecast.

RHTWSB boasting the home advantage, will be led by the in-form national players Assad Fudadin and Royston Crandon.

They will be supported by Khemraj Mahadeo, Andre Percival, Renwick Batson, and Delbert Hicks. Add Michael Rangasammy and captain Esaun Crandon and RHTWSB can be expected to score heavily against a spin-based Albion bowling attack led by national left-arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul, Devendra Bishu, former Berbice off spinner Michael Chinsammy and captain Narsingh Deonarine.

The Albion batting, which appears strong on paper, lies in the capable hands of West Indies players Sewnarine Chattergoon and Deonarine with support from Ramnarine Chattergoon, Jonathan Foo and Shastri Persaud.

Add all-rounder Doodnauth Lallbeharry to the fray and the RHTWSB bowlers can expect to have a hard day in the field.

The RHTWSB bowling will be led by national fast bowler Esaun Crandon with his brother Royston, Fudadin, Troy Matheison, Percival and leg-spinners Ravi Narine and Naresh Mahadeo adding flavour to the bowling department.

The winner of this competition, which features the top eight teams in the Berbice area and is organized by Rose Hall Town Youth and Sports Club with sponsorship from the Guyana Beverage Company, the local dealers of BUSTA drinks will pocket $100,000.00 along with the championship trophy, whilst the runners-up will receive $50,000.00 and a trophy. The Man-of-the-match will also be the recipient of a cash prize of $10,000.00.

General Manager of the sponsors, Robert Selman, and Chairman of the Rose Hall Town Interim Management Committee, Bevon Sinclair will be on hand to meet the teams prior to the start of the game.

The umpires are Samuel Whyte and Abdool Gafoor and a live broadcast is expected to be carried by NCN Radio.

Around the Web