GCA/Cellink Plus first division

Police Sports Club’s(PSC) Rawle Browne, Transport Sports Club’s  (TSC) Marcus Watkins and Georgetown Cricket Club’s (GCC) Ravi Sarwan struck centuries when second round action of the Georgetown Cricket Association (GCA) Cellink Plus first division competition concluded Sunday at several venues in Georgetown.

However while Browne and Watkins both struck centuries in a losing cause Sarwan’s ton guided his team to first innings points.

At the Demerara Cricket Club (DCC) ground, the home team took first innings points from PSC, despite’s Browne’s pugnacious 123.

Browne struck 13 fours and five sixes but DCC took first innings points after scoring 290 and bowling out the lawmen for 228.

In the DCC’s first innings score Trevon Griffith, 40, Royston Alkins, 39 and Denver Greaves, 34, were the principal scorers as Ricardo Devers bagged 5-65.

In the PSC’s score of 228, only Jason Heyliger, 23, offered support to Browne.

National under-19 off spinner Totaram Bishun, 5-53 and Griffith, 3-10 did the damage with the ball for DCC.

Batting a second time DCC declared their second innings closed on 208-8 with Griffith scoring an even 50.

He was supported by Troy Nurse, 38, Dennis Squires, 34, Ron Ramnauth, 32, and Leroy Bristol 30.

V. Jaigobin picked up 5-82 and Devers 2-33 for PSC who were 26 without loss in their second innings when the game was called off.

At the Everest Cricket Club (ECC) the home team grabbed first innings points from Guyana National Industrial Corporation (GNIC) but was lucky to come away with just that after being set 102 for victory by the visitors.

ECC won the toss on the opening day and bowled out their opponents for 193.

National Under-17 players Ovid Richardson (50) and Dexter Solomon (42) led the batting with support from Rayon Griffith and Ken Alphonso with 24 each.

Leon Scott led the bowling with 4-63 whilst Troy Gonsalves and Amir Khan each picked up 2-27 and Sauid Drepaul 2-28.

ECC declared their first innings closed on 254-8 after resuming on their overnight 128-2.

Surendra Heeralall (59), Gonsalves (52), Abilash Dookie (45) and Ryan Rajmangal (38) were the principal scorers while Alphonso (3-61) and Collis Butts 2-75 were the main wicket takers for GNIC.

Batting a second time GNIC were dismissed for 163 with Griffith contributing 70 and Alphonso 22.

Khan (3-20), Drepaul (3-47) and Javed Rasheed (2-19) led the bowling for ECC, who were shakily placed on 35-5 in their second innings, chasing a victory target of 102 at the close.

R. Chatara and V. Rodrigues grabbed two wickets each for their team.

At Georgetown Cricket Club (GCC), the home team took first innings points from Transport Sports Club despite Watkins’ ton, thanks to Sarwan.

Watkins scored 108 with 16 fours and two sixes and along with Shane Cummings 93 (12 fours and two sixes) and Stephen Alves 50 (4×4; 3×6), guided TSC to 369 all out.

Raj Nanan (2-46), Romaine Grenville (2-54) and Ricardo Jadunauth (2-62) were the wicket-takers for GCC.

Sarwan then struck the second century of the match, 107 with only five fours and GCC got tangible contributions from Wasim Haslim (76; 8×4, 1×6) and Treon Forde 46  to reach 370 all out.

Watkins returned to claim 4-55 and along with Carl Rambharose (3-63) and Marc Nicholson 2-51, tried desperately to steer their team to first innings points.

In the other match played at the Malteenoes Sports Club (MSC) ground, MSC recorded an outright victory over the Guyana Defence Force (GDF), but no scores were available.

Around the Web