Gayle, Miller named in J/ca squad

KINGSTON, Jamaica, CMC – Nikita Miller and David Bernard Jr., two members of the makeshift West Indies’ Champions Trophy outfit, have been named in an 18-man Jamaican squad for the WICB President’s Cup one-day tournament.

They will join recently sidelined players Chris Gayle and Jerome Taylor in the squad which will be trimmed to 14 a week-and-a-half before the scheduled start of the tournament on October 28.

Gayle and Taylor are among the elite West Indies players who have made themselves available for the regional tournament, after opting out of the Bangladesh series earlier this year.

They were then overlooked for the ICC Champions Trophy in South Africa which finished yesterday.

Brendan Nash, the Australia-born left-hander, is the other first choice West Indies player included in the squad.

Miller, a slimly built left-arm spinner, and Bernard, a hardworking all-rounder, broke ranks with the elite players to represent the West Indies against Bangladesh.

They were subsequently selected for the Champions Trophy where the Windies lost all three of their group matches.

Wavell Hinds, Brenton Parchment, Xavier Marshall, Shawn Findley, Carlton Baugh and Daren Powell, all of whom have already represented the West Indies, have been included in the squad.

Fast bowler Andrew Richardson, who toured England with the West Indies earlier this year, has made the squad which is completed by Tamar Lambert, Odean Brown, Jason Dawes, Krishmar Santokie, Danza Hyatt, and newcomer Zeniffe Fowler.

Gayle has been recommended as captain with Bernard as his deputy.

Jamaica will open their campaign against Trinidad & Tobago on October 28.

Around the Web