Inter-Division Twenty20 competition underway

The nation’s law enforcement officers kicked off their 2011 Police Sports Inter-Division Twenty20 competition last Thursday.

Three teams; Presidential Guard, G-Division and defending champions Headquarters, are contesting the  round-robin tournament format and the side with the most wins at the conclusion of the competition will  be declared the winner. All the matches will be played at the Police Sports Club Ground, Eve Leary

There will be prizes for the winners, runners-up and player of the match for the respective matches.
On Thursday, Presidential Guards defeated G-Division by 16 runs. Batting first Presidential Guards scored 134/9 in 20 overs, with Daniram Gopaul (31) and Shane Sattaur (26) the highest scorers.

Competition coordinator Linden Matthews presents MVP trophy to Trevor Benn of Headquarters at Police Sports Club Ground, Eve Leary, Yesterday.

Bowling for G-Division Rawl Haynes claimed 3-18 and Mustapha Zaram 3-25.
G-Division, in reply, was restricted to 118/8 in 20 overs. Rodrick English top scored with 33, while Sattaur (3-16) and Gavindra Jagnarine (2-19) led the bowling for Presidential Guards.

Shane Sattaur won the MVP for his performance in that game.

On Monday, defending champions Headquarters defeated Presidential Guards by 19 runs. Taking first strike  Headquarters scored 134/9 in 20 overs with Trevor Benn top scoring with 41. Deodat Singh (3-9) and Shane Sattaur (2-33) were the main wicket takers.

Presidential Guards in their chase were bowled out for 115 in 19.2 overs with Sattaur continuing his good performance, top scoring with 46, while Trevor Benn had a good all-round game claiming 4 for 7 en route to claiming the MVP award for the match.
The final match of the competition will see Headquarters facing G-Division on September 26 from 11:00 am.

Around the Web