Registration for five-stage cycle road race closes today

‘Ride For Life’

Registration for the ‘Ride For Life’ five-stage cycle road race which will to pedal off on October 6 closes today.

Cyclists who are not yet registered are urged to visit National Cycling Coach Hassan Mohamed’s Middle Street office during working hours.

The event is now in its fifth year and has been aptly  dubbed the ‘Ride For Life 5’. It  is an initiative of the Guyana Cycling Federation (GCF), the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport and the Ministry of Health.

The Tour of Guyana five-stage road race will feature Guyana’s top riders as well as cyclists from the Caribbean and the USA.

The event which will be staged over a four-day period will require the riders to cover a total of 266 miles.

The first stage commences at 07:30 hrs at Corriverton and ends at New Amsterdam (46 miles). On the same day, stage two will begin at 14:00 hrs when the riders will pedal off at Rosignol and journey to Georgetown (60 miles).

On day two (October 7) stage three will start at 09:00 hrs at Wales and end at Parika (35 miles). On day three (October 8) the penultimate stage will commence at 07:30 hrs at Supenaam and conclude at Suddie (62 miles).

On the final day, Sunday, (October 9) the final stage will begin at 8:30 hrs with the cyclists riding from Linden and finishing in Georgetown in another 62-mile race.

At the launching of the event Minister of Sport Dr Frank Anthony noted that the five-stage Tour of Guyana race is the most prestigious cycle race in Guyana. He said he was pleased with the development of the race in terms of the rising level of competition and the increasing number of competitors.

The minister added that the race serves as an avenue for local cyclists to gain experience and to learn strategies and new techniques from the foreign riders. Anthony also emphasized that with the local riders competing against seasoned foreigners, their performance and cycling in Guyana will be improved.

President of GCF Cheryl Thompson said that the tour will attract four teams from the Caribbean and Florida’s Team Cocos.

The GCF president went on to say that she expects bigger and better performances from the local cyclists, as they have been exposed to a very high standard of international cycling recently.

Past winners of the Tour of Guyana include Alonzo Greaves (2007), Junior Niles (2008), Geron Williams (2009) and Antonio Quintero of Team Cocos, USA (2010).


Eastman continues winning ways

On the back of recent sublime form, Hamza Eastman continued his victorious ways yesterday.

By ,

Nobrega powers to victory in 50-mile road race

In an extraordinary display of speed and stamina, Team Alanis’ Paul DeNobrega took the spoils of the 5th annual CARICOM 50-mile road race with a wire-to-wire win yesterday at West Demerara.

By ,

Anthony double winner at Cheddi Jagan memorial cycle road race

Top cyclist Michael Anthony was a double winner yesterday as the first stage of the 17th annual three-stage memorial cycle road race in memory of former Guyana president Dr Cheddi Jagan concluded in West Demerara.

Guyana’s best in action in today’s R&R 40mile road race

The cream of the nation’s wheelsmen will once again turn the roadways of West Demerara into their battleground today when Hassan Mohamed continues his cycling calendar.

Philander staves off Jeffrey

United Cycle Club’s (UCC) Albert Philander held off a strong challenge from national road race champion Raynauth Jeffrey of Team Coco to win the feature 35-lap event at yesterday’s National Sports Commission (NSC) sponsored 11-race cycle programme in the National Park.

By ,

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.

We built using new technology. This makes our website faster, more feature rich and easier to use for 95% of our readers.
Unfortunately, your browser does not support some of these technologies. Click the button below and choose a modern browser to receive our intended user experience.

Update my browser now