Top test scorers in a calendar year

(Reuters) – Australia captain Michael Clarke struck 106 yesterday to become his country’s highest test run-scorer in a calendar year, surpassing Ricky Ponting’s 1,544 runs set in 2005.

Here is a list of top 10 batsmen in the world with most runs in a calendar year:

Player                                       Innings     Runs       Average       Year

Mohammad Yousuf (PAK)     19              1788            99.33             2006
Viv Richards (WI)                      19             1710             90.00            1976
Graeme Smith (SA)                   25              1656             72.00            2008
Michael Clarke (AUS)              18               1595           106.33            2012
Sachin Tendulkar (IND)         23               1562             78.10             2010
Ricky Ponting (AUS)               28               1544             67.13              2005
Ricky Ponting (AUS)               18                1503         100.20              2003
Michael Vaughan (ENG)       26                1481             61.70              2002
Justin Langer (AUS)               27                1481            54.85               2004
Virender Sehwag (IND)        27                 1462            56.23               2008

Top 10 Australian batsmen with most
runs in a calendar year:

Player                    Innings     Runs    Average        Year

Michael Clarke          18           1595      106.33              2012
Ricky Ponting            28           1544        67.13             2005
Ricky Ponting            18           1503      100.20              2003
Justin Langer             27           1481        54.85              2004
Matthew Hayden        25           1391       63.22               2001
Bob Simpson             26           1381       60.04              1964
Matthew Hayden        29           1380       53.07              2005
Damien Martyn          26           1353       56.37              2004
Ricky Ponting            18           1333      88.86               2006
Matthew Hayden           21           1312      77.17               2003


Another win for Team Evolution’s DeNobrega

Yesterday, in perfect conditions for racing at the National Park, Paul DeNobrega sprinted off with the spoils of the feature 35-lap event of the fifth Banks DIH’s Non-Alcoholic 11-race programme.

By ,

Back Circle, Tigerbay, Future Stars, ESPN into semis

  Back Circle will battle Tigerbay, while Future Stars will oppose ESPN in the semifinal round, following quarter-final wins on Friday, in the 3rd Annual Xtra Beer ‘Ballers in the Summer’ Street Football Championship.

Knightriders crush Warriors by seven wickets

The Guyana Amazon Warriors’ horror run in this year’s edition of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) continued yesterday, as they crumbled to yet another defeat, this time falling by seven wickets to top of the table Trinbago Knightriders at the Guyana National Stadium, Providence.

By ,

Windies crushed by an innings and 209 runs

BIRMINGHAM, England, CMC – West Indies suffered a humiliating innings and 209-run defeat in the historic day/night opening Test after losing 19 wickets in a devastating capitulation on Saturday’s third day at Edgbaston.

Guyana’s Men and Women play in today’s finals

Guyana’s Men’s and Women’s teams will have the opportunity to be crowned as Caribbean Champions when the NLA XXV Senior Caribbean Squash Championships conclude today in Kingstown, St.

Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly.

We built using new technology. This makes our website faster, more feature rich and easier to use for 95% of our readers.
Unfortunately, your browser does not support some of these technologies. Click the button below and choose a modern browser to receive our intended user experience.

Update my browser now