Ross Taylor joins CPL

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados,  CMC– New Zealand batsman Ross Taylor has become the latest international cricketer to link-up with the inaugural Caribbean Premier League (CPL) set to begin in July.

Taylor, one of the hottest commodities in Twenty/20 cricket, has been confirmed as the tournament’s third international franchise player, organizers announced yesterday.
The former New Zealand captain has played in the Indian Premier League (IPL) since its inception in 2008, with spells at Royal Challengers Bangalore, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Daredevils and, for this year, the Pune Warriors.

“I am very excited about playing in the first ever edition of the Caribbean Premier League,” declared Taylor,  who can lay claim to the fastest Test hundred in his country’s history, reaching three figures against Australia in Hamilton from only 81 balls in 2010.

The latest international player to sign-up for the CPL
The latest international player to sign-up for the CPL

“As current World Champions the West Indies have been a force in T20 cricket over the past couple of years, and CPL should help uncover new international superstars in the mould of Kieron Pollard and Sunil Narine”.

Taylor, part of the side that reached successive ICC Cricket World Cups semi-finals in 2007 (in the Caribbean) and 2011, as well as the final of the ICC Champions Trophy in 2009, has a career strike-rate of 142.79 in the shortest form of the game.

He has been a fixture in the New Zealand side for seven years and has proved himself as a world-class performer in all formats of the game.

The 29 years old will be remembered in the Caribbean for blazing an unbeaten 62 from just 40 balls against the West Indies in the ICC World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka.

“The Caribbean is one of my favourite places to play cricket,” said Taylor.
“With the passionate crowds, the great atmosphere and the athletic style of play, I’m looking forward to being a part of this exciting competition.”

Taylor joins a stellar list of world-class players who have already been confirmed for this year’s inaugural CPL.

Already contracted are Australia legends Ricky Ponting and Adam Gilchrist, alongside the six confirmed West Indies franchise players: Darren Sammy, Dwayne Bravo, Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard and Marlon Samuels.

Around the Web