Mae’s, Reedemer Primary triumph at Windball

The Mae’s School was crowned the Georgetown Zone Male Champions as they defeated West Ruimveldt Primary by four runs as action in the MCYS/NSC/AL Sport & Tour Promotions 16th Annual End of School Year Overhand Windball Cricket Champions Trophy continued at the National Park, Thomas Lands.

Batting first Mae’s scored 60-2 in their allotted five overs. Yudistir Persaud and Navindra Persaud made 35 and 18 runs respectively for the Subryanville side. West Ruimveldt in reply was restricted to 56-2.

Imran Panchan and Sachin Persaud scored 25 and 17 runs respectively for West Ruimveldt.

In the third place matchup, St. Agnes Primary 17-0 defeated St. Margaret’s Primary 16-4 by 10 wickets in a rain reduced three-over game. Eon Joseph top scored for the Church Street side with 11 runs.

On the distaff side, Redeemer Primary 40-1 was crowned the Georgetown Zone Female Champions as they defeated St. Agnes Primary 33-0 by seven runs. Cindy Mohamed and Tonesha Gladd made 17 and 14 runs respectively in a winning cause.

Deslyn Leitch led all scorers in a losing effort with 19 runs.

In the third place encounter, St. Pius Primary 36-0 successfully chased West Ruimveldt Primary’s score of 35-2 to win by 10 wickets. Carlisa Rogers led the St. Pius unit with 19 runs.

Director of Sport Neil Kumar was on hand to do the presentation along with NSC Commission member Shawn Richmond. In his address to the players, parents and spectators, he thanked tournament coordinator Allister Munroe for a job well done.

He also congratulated the winners especially Redeemer Primary for redeeming themselves as he recalled for the longest while reading about them always ending on the losing side.

NSC Administration Officer Gervy C Harry, Cricket Coach Daniel Richmond, AL Sport & Tour Promotions officials Basil Persaud, Mark White, Nigel Hope, Edward Cobenna, and Ron Marks were all present at the finals.

Around the Web